Media Awards: Arqiva Commercial Radio Awards, winners

TWO Scots radio stations have been named winners at awards celebrating the best of the UK commercial radio sector.

Radio Borders was awarded gold in the Station of the Year (under 500,000 TSA) category, at the Arqiva Commercial Radio Awards, held last night.

Meanwhile, Radio Clyde took top spot in Local Sales Team category.

Radio Clyde also took silver (in the Station of the Year (500,000 – 2m TSA) category), while Radio Borders took two bronze medals (Breakfast Show of the Year (under 2m TSA) and Local Sales Team).

There were bronzes too for Forth One, Bauer Scotland and Northsound 1.

The winners’ list reads, as follows:

Presenter of the Year (under 2m TSA)

Gold: Trev & Caroline – 106 JACKfm Oxfordshire
Silver: Jordan North – Rock FM
Bronze: Steve & Karen – Metro Radio

Station of the Year (over 2m TSA)

Gold: Nick Ferrari – LBC
Silver: Clint Boon – XFM Manchester
Bronze: Christian O’Connell – Absolute Radio

Programmer of the Year

Gold: Andy Roberts – Kiss
Silver: James Rea – LBC
Bronze: Tony Moorey – Absolute Radio

Unsung Hero of the Year

Gold: Pat Broome – Smooth North West
Silver: Sally Elkington – Lincs FM Group
Bronze: James Craddock – 106 JACKfm Oxfordshire & JACK 2

Journalist of the Year (Ali Booker Memorial Award)

Gold: Tom Swarbrick – LBC
Silver: Micky Welch – Metro Radio
Bronze: Laura Pennington – Hallam FM

Station of the Year (under 500,000 TSA)

Gold: Radio Borders
Silver: Isle of Wight Radio
Bronze: Northsound 1

Station of the Year (500,000 – 2m TSA)

Gold: Metro Radio
Silver: Clyde 1
Bronze: KMFM

Station of the Year (2m + TSA)

Gold: LBC
Silver: Absolute Radio
Bronze: Classic FM

Breakfast Show of the Year (under 2m TSA)

Gold: Big John @ Breakfast – Hallam FM
Silver: JACK’s Morning Glory – 106 JACKfm Oxfordshire & JACK 2
Bronze: Keith Clarkson at Breakfast – Radio Borders

Breakfast Show of the Year (over 2m TSA)

Gold: Sam & Amy – Gem 106
Silver: Classic FM’s More Music Breakfast with Tim Lihoreau
Bronze: The Christian O’Connell Breakfast Show – Absolute Radio

Feature of the Year

Gold: Lady Week – Heart Sussex
Silver: Auschwitz – A Survivor Returns – LBC
Bronze : Kid in the Car – Forth One

Single Programme or Broadcast of the Year

Gold: The Clarke Carlisle Story – Absolute Radio
Silver: The LBC EU Leaders Debate – LBC
Bronze: Referendum Live – Bauer Scotland

Specialist Programme of the Year

Gold: Rock n Roll Football – Absolute Radio
Silver: Andi Durrant – the Electrick Playground – Kiss Fresh
Bronze: Nightowls – Metro Radio

Social Action Initiative

Gold: Cycle4Life Challenge – Viking FM
Silver: Thirsty Kirsty – Banbury Sound
Bronze : Global’s Make Some Noise – Heart London

Station Imaging Award

Silver: Saturday Night at the Movies Classic FM
Bronze : Capital Xtra

News Coverage of the Year

Gold: BOB fm Hertfordshire News Team – BOB fm
Silver: Global’s Newsroom Wales
Bronze: Free Radio News – Free Radio

Innovation of the Year

Gold: Bin Weevils Partnership – Fun Kids
Silver: One Breakfast Show, Seven Playlists – Absolute Radio
Bronze: Composed – Classic FM

Marketing Award

Gold: Girl Band: The Piccadillys – Key 103
Silver: Punching Above Your Weight – Metro Radio
Bronze : The Free Radio Phantom – Free Radio

Local Sales Team of the Year

Gold: Radio Clyde
Silver: Smooth North East
Bronze: Radio Borders

National Sales Award

Gold: Go Think Big – Bauer Media
Silver: Masters of Man Time with Just for Men – Absolute Radio
Bronze: X Men FM – XFM

Advertiser of the Year

Winner IKEA

Media Agency of the Year

Gold: Carat
Silver: RadioWorks
Bronze: OMD

PPL Breakthrough UK Artist of the Year

Gold: Sam Smith
Silver: Clean Bandit
Bronze: Ella Henderson

PPL Most Played UK Artist on Commercial Radio

Gold: Ed Sheeran
Silver: Calvin Harris
Bronze: Queen

The Arqiva Gold Award

Winner Christian O’Connell – Absolute Radio

Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner Richard Wheatley and Jazz FM