Media Awards: British Journalism Awards 2016, finalists

A SCOTS investigative journalism website has been shortlisted in this year’s British Journalism Awards.

The Ferret – featuring the work of Billy Briggs, Rob Edwards, Jo Skinner, Fiona Davidson, Peter Geoghegan, Rachel Hamada, Lisa Mackenzie and Ally Tibbitt – has been nominated in the digital innovation category, which also includes a shortlisting for Scot, Stephen Khan, editor of The Conversation.

The winners are being announced, in London, on the sixth of next month.

The awards are organised by trade website, Press Gazette.

The shortlist reads, as follows:

Local heroes

Birmingham Mail, Andy Richards

Yellow Advertiser, Charles Thomson

Birmingham Mail, Jeanette Oldham

BBC Birmingham – Inside Out West Midlands, Jonathan Gibson

The Yorkshire Post, Rob Parsons

Business, finance and economics journalism

The Guardian, Simon Goodley

The Sunday Times, Oliver Shah

Wall Street Journal, David Enrich

BBC Panorama – Richard Cookson, Richard Bilton, Andrew Head

Financial Times, Richard Milne

The Times, Billy Kenber

Specialist journalism

Sunday Times security correspondent, Richard Kerbaj

BBC news social affairs correspondent, Alison Holt (with producer Callum May and India Pollock)

Buzzfeed LGBT editor, Patrick Strudwick

Health Service Journal patient safety correspondent, Shaun Lintern

Daily Mail defence correspondent, Larisa Brown

Schools Week, John Dickens

Police Oracle, Ian Weinfass

The New European

Politics journalism

BBC News – Anthony Reuben, Alexis Condon, Tamara Kovacevic, Peter Barnes, Deirdre Finnerty, Beth Sagar-Fenton, Shelley Phelps

Channel 4 News – FactCheck, Patrick Worrall, Georgia Graham and Kieron Bryan

Vice News, Ben Ferguson and Phil Pendlebury

The Observer, Daniel Boffey

The Daily Telegraph, Ben Riley-Smith

Buzzfeed UK, Jim Waterson

BBC News, Laura Kuenssberg

Guido Fawkes, Alex Wickham and Paul Staines

The Times, Rachel Sylvester

Sports journalism

Buzzfeed News and BBC – Heidi Blake, John Templon and Simon Cox

The Sunday Times – Jonathan Calvert, George Arbuthnott and David Collins

Daily Mail, Martha Kelner

Daily Mail, Matt Lawton

The Guardian, Owen Gibson

Science and technology journalism

The Times, Billy Kenber

BBC News at Six, David Brown and Gabriella O’Donnell

The BMJ, Gareth Iacobucci

The Daily Telegraph, Laura Donnelly

The Economist, Natasha Loder

Daily Mirror, Warren Manger

Campaign of the year

The Sunday Mirror for

Birmingham Mail, Andy Richards

i, Emily Dugan

Mail on Sunday

Sunday People, Martyn Halle

Daily Mail, Sean Poulter

Popular journalism

The Sun, Dan Jones

Daily Mirror, Martin Bagot

The Sun, Rob Pattinson, for

Daily Mirror, Ros Wynne Jones

Mail on Sunday, David Rose

Ian Birrell, Daily Mail and Mail on Sunday

Scoop of the year

Daily Telegraph, Charles Moore

Sky News, Stuart Ramsay

The Sun, Dan Jones

Buzzfeed News and the BBC – Heidi Blake, John Templon and Simon Cox

The Guardian, Jamie Grierson

The Sunday Times, Oliver Shah

Health Service Journal, Shaun Lintern


Getty Images, Carl Court

Getty Images, Jeff J Mitchell

The Sunday Times, Justin Sutcliffe

Mail on Sunday, Philip Ide

Press Association, Stefan Rousseau

The Telegraph, Eddie Mulholland:

Digital innovation

BBC News

The Ferret – Billy Briggs, Rob Edwards, Peter Geoghegan, Rachel Hamada, Ally Tibbitt

Private Eye, Christian Eriksson and Richard Brooks

TechRadar, James Rivington

The Conversation, Stephen Khan

The Times and Sunday Times

Buzzfeed UK – Tom Phillips, Paul Curry, Chris Applegate

Investigation of the year

BBC 5 Live – Adrian Goldberg, Gail Champion, Carl Johnston, Claire Savage

Sky News, Stuart Ramsay

The Sun, Dan Jones

Financial Times, Erika Solomon and Sam Jones

Daily Mail – Katherine Faulkner, Paul Bentley, Lucy Osborne

The Sunday Times, Oliver Shah

BBC Panorama – Richard Bilton, James Oliver, Jonathan Coffey, David Thompson, Andrew Head

Private Eye, Richard Brooks and Christian Eriksson

The Guardian

New journalist of the year

Anna Collinson, BBC Newsbeat

Camilla Turner, The Daily Telegraph

Louise Callaghan, The Sunday Times

Miranda Johnson, The Economist

Mirren Gidda, Newsweek Europe

Ross Kempsell, Flynet News

Will Hazell, Health Service Journal

Zia Weisse, freelance for The Sunday Times and Telegraph

Foreign affairs journalism

Mail on Sunday, Ian Birrell

The Guardian, Angelique Chrisafis

BBC Newsnight, Gabriel Gatehouse

Channel 4 News, Waad Al-Khatib

Financial Times, Erica Solomon and Sam Jones

BBC World Service Team – Chloe Hadjimatheou, Richard Knight, Faisal Irshaid, Amanda Gunn, Tony Jolliffe, Wael Toubaji

The Observer, Emma Graham-Harrison

Daily and Sunday Mirror, Emily Retter

The winners of the Journalist of the year and the Marie Colvin awards will be announced on the night.

The awards’ main sponsor is drink company, Heineken.