Edinburgh International TV Festival unveils channel and programme-of-the-year shortlists

BBC Four, E4 and Sky1 are among the channels shortlisted in Channel of the Year Awards run by the Edinburgh International Television Festival, taking place in August.

The festival – sponsored by MediaGuardian – has today announced that BBC Four, BBC Three, Cartoon Network, Comedy Central, E4, Five USA, Sky1 and Sky News have each been nominated in the Best Non-Terrestrial Channel of the Year categor while the channels in the running for Best Terrestrial Channel of the Year prize are – as always – BBC One, BBC Two, ITV1, Channel 4 and Five.

In the Best Terrestrial Programme of the Year category, Dr Who (BBC One) goes head-to-head with The X Factor (ITV1), Harry Hill’s TV Burp (ITV1), Outnumbered (BBC One), and Flash Forward (Five).

The nominees for Best Non-Terrestrial Programme are 30 Rock (Comedy Central), Glee (E4), Newswipe with Charlie Brooker (BBC Four), Pineapple Dance Studios (Sky1) and The Inbetweeners (E4).

The winners will be decided during a live vote at the festival on August 28.