BAFTA TV prize for Scots-made Terry Pratchett documentary

A DOCUMENTARY made by a Glasgow-based independent TV production company is among the winners at the prestigious BAFTA TV Awards.

‘Terry Pratchett: Choosing To Die’, made by Glasgow-based Keo North for BBC Two, took the Single Documentary prize at the awards ceremony last night, which also saw Scots writer, Stephen Moffat, pick up a Special Award and BBC Scotland-made Mrs Brown’s Boys named winner of the Situation Comedy prize.

Earlier this year, The Terry Pratchett documentary also was a winner at the Royal Television Society Awards.

The full list of British Academy Television winners and nominees reads:


Rolf Harris

Special Award

Steven Moffat

Leading Actor

Winner: Dominic West (Appropriate Adult)

Nominated: Benedict Cumberbatch (Sherlock)

John Simm (Exile)

Joe Gilgun (This Is England ’88)

Leading Actress

Winner: Emily Watson (Appropriate Adult)

Nominated: Nadine Marshall (Random)

Romola Garai (The Crimson Petal and the White)

Vicky McClure (This Is England ’88)

Supporting Actor

Winner: Andrew Scott (Sherlock)

Nominated: Joseph Mawle (Birdsong)

Martin Freeman (Sherlock)

Stephen Rea (The Shadow Line)

Supporting Actress

Winner: Monica Dolan (Appropriate Adult)

Nominated: Anna Chancellor (The Hour)

Maggie Smith (Downton Abbey)

Miranda Hart (Call the Midwife)

Entertainment Performance

Winner: Graham Norton (The Graham Norton Show)

Nominated: Alan Carr (Alan Carr: Chatty Man)

Dara O’Briain (Mock the Week)

Harry Hill (Harry Hill’s TV Burp)

Female Performance in a Comedy Programme

Winner: Jennifer Saunders (Absolutely Fabulous)

Nominated: Olivia Colman (Twenty Twelve)

Ruth Jones (Stella)

Tamsin Greig (Friday Night Dinner)

Male Performance in a Comedy Programme

Winner: Darren Boyd (Spy)

Nominated: Brendan O’Carroll (Mrs Brown’s Boys)

Hugh Bonneville (Twenty Twelve)

Tom Hollander (Rev.)

Single Drama

Winner: Random

Nominated: Holy Flying Circus

Page Eight



This is England ’88

Nominated: Appropriate Adult

The Crimson Petal and the White

Top Boy

Drama Series

Winner: The Fades

Nominated: Misfits

Scott and Bailey


Soap and Continuing Drama

Winner: Coronation Street

Nominated: EastEnders

Holby City


International Programme

Winner: Borgen

Nominated: Forbrydelsen (The Killing)

Modern Family

The Slap

Factual Series

Winner: Our War

Nominated: The Choir: Military Wives

Educating Essex

Protecting Our Children: Damned If We Do Damned If We Don’t

Specialist Factual

Winner: Mummifying Alan: Egypt’s Last Secret

Nominated: British Masters

Frozen Planet

Wonders of the Universe

Single Documentary

Terry Pratchett: Choosing to Die

Nominated: 9/11: The Day That Changed the World

The Fight of Their Lives

We Need to Talk About Dad (Cutting Edge)


The Great British Bake-Off

Nominated: DIY SOS: The Big Build

Hairy Bikers’ Meals on Wheels

Timothy Spall: Somewhere at Sea

Reality and Constructed Factual

Winner: Young Apprentice

Nominated: An Idiot Abroad

Don’t Tell The Bride

Made in Chelsea

Current Affairs

Winner: ‘Undercover Care: The Abuse Exposed’ (Panorama)

Nominated: Bahrain: Shouting in the Dark

Sri Lanka’s Killing Fields

‘The Truth About Adoption’ (Panorama)

News Coverage

Winner: Channel 4 News: Japanese earthquake

Nominate: BBC News at Ten: Siege of Homs

ITV News at Ten: Battle of Misrata

Sky News: Libya rebel convoy – live

Sport and Live Event

Winner: The Royal Wedding (BBC)

Nominated: Frankenstein’s Wedding: Live in Leeds

Rugby World Cup Final

Tour De France 2011

New Media

Winner: Psychoville

Nominated: Autumnwatch

The Bank Job


Entertainment Programme

Winner: Derren Brown: The Experiments

Nominated: Celebrity Juice

Harry Hill’s TV Burp

Michael McIntyre‘s Christmas Comedy Roadshow

Comedy Programme

Winner: Stewart Lee’s Comedy Vehicle

Nominated: Charlie Brooker‘s 2011 Wipe

Comic Strip: The Hunt for Tony Blair

The Cricklewood Greats

Situation Comedy

Winner: Mrs Brown’s Boys

Nominated: Fresh Meat

Friday Night Dinner