Students from six universities and colleges shortlisted in Scots film and TV competition

STUDENTS from six universities and colleges have been shortlisted in a film and TV competition run by the Scottish division of the Royal Television Society.

Edinburgh College of Art leads the way with four nominations, while City of Glasgow College has three and Stirling and Edinburgh Napier Universities each have two. Also competing for the top awards are the University of the West of Scotland and Aberdeen College.

ECA is guaranteed at least one winner as the art school took all three nominations in the animation category.

This year, there were 18 entries in four categories for what – says RTS Scotland – “are widely regarded as the most prestigious awards for student film and programme making in Scotland”.

The winners will be announced on the 29th of next month, at the BBC Scotland HQ in Glasgow. They will be entered automatically for the RTS UK student awards.

In a RTS media release, chair of the RTS in Scotland, Henry Eagles, is quoted, as saying: “The judges had a tough job selecting the nominees and they were particularly pleased to see some of Scotland further education colleges like City of Glasgow and Aberdeen competing alongside the more established universities’ TV and film schools.

“For several years, Scotland’s colleges have been working hard to improve their media and film courses and this is proof that they’re moving in the right direction.

Joining Eagles on the judging panel are Richard Downes, BBC Scotland; Yvonne Jennings, BBC Scotland; James Henry, freelance director; Cliff Martin, freelance director; Barbara McKissack, Heaton Pictures; and Sueann Smith, Red Kite Animation.

The full list of nominations is:

Undergraduate Animation

‘My Name is Tom Moody’, Ainslie Henderson, Edinburgh College of Art

‘How Can You Swallow So Much Sleep?’ Anna Ginsberg, Edinburgh College of Art

‘All That Glisters’, Claire Lamond, Edinburgh College of Art

Undergraduate Entertainment

‘The Late Show’, Gareth Malone, Stephanie Borman and Team, University of the West of Scotland

‘It’s Only A Movie’, Ewan Denny and Team, City of Glasgow College/ Edinburgh Napier University

Undergraduate Factual

‘On Another Note’, Emma Dove, Keiba Clubb, Juliet Hounam and Marina Gonzalez, University of Stirling

‘Free Rein’, Andrew Chambers, Fiona Gray, Bethany Lawrie, Sam Postlethwaite and Amy Saunders, University of Stirling

‘Charles Rennie Mackintosh’, Nicola Braid and Team, City of Glasgow College

Undergraduate Fiction

‘Fashion Victim’, Martin Taylor and Stephanie Dunnett, Aberdeen College

‘Flashbulb’, Kieran Gosney (Director) and Kestrel Cheswick (Producer), Edinburgh College of Art, Edinburgh University

‘Unnoticed’, Andrew Crane and Team, City of Glasgow College/Edinburgh Napier University