Murray named Newcomer of the Year at commercial radio awards

A JOURNALIST at Radio Forth has been named the most promising newcomer at media awards celebrating the best of commercial radio.

The Arqiva Commercial Radio Awards, held last night, saw Andrew Murray chosen in the Newcomer(s) of the Year category.

His award took in work he did previously for Central FM, before he moved, earlier this year, to Forth.

He told “I’m absolutely delighted; it came as a complete shock to me on the night. I am extremely grateful to both Central and Forth for giving me fantastic opportunities.”

The full list of winners reads as follows:

Presenter of the Year (under two million TSA)

Steve & Karen – Metro Radio

Presenter of the Year (over two million TSA)

Iain Dale – LBC 97.3

Programmer of the Year

James Rea – LBC 97.3

Newcomer(s) of the Year

Andrew Murray – 103.1 Central FM / Forth One and Forth 2

Journalist of the Year (Ali Booker Memorial Award)

Dan Freedman – LBC 97.3

Station of the Year (under 500,000 TSA)

Isle of Wight Radio

Station of the Year (500,000 to two million TSA)

Metro Radio

Station of the Year (over two million TSA)

LBC 97.3

Breakfast Show of the Year (under two million TSA)

Steve & Karen’s Breakfast Show – Metro Radio

Breakfast Show of the Year (over two million TSA)

Kiss Breakfast with Rickie, Melvin and Charlie – Kiss

Feature(s) of the Year

Lionel Glitzy/Hywel and Jamie’s Vegas Adventure – Rock FM

Single Programme or Broadcast of the Year

Ciaran’s Cause – Real Radio North West

Specialist Programme of the Year

The Ronnie Wood Show – Absolute Radio

Social Action Initiative

Walk for Harry – Free Radio

Station Imaging Award (sponsored by Beds and Beats)

Classic FM – Global Radio

News Coverage of the Year

IRN news and sports coverage produced by Sky News Radio

Marketing Award

The Christian O’Connell Breakfast Show with Wickes – Absolute Radio

Local Sales Team of the Year

Smooth Radio London – Real & Smooth Ltd

National Sales Award

InStream – Absolute Radio

Radio Station Event of the Year

Capital’s Summertime Ball with Vodafone – Capital FM

Advertiser of the Year

British Sky Broadcasting Ltd

Media Agency of the Year


PPL Breakthrough UK Artist of the Year

Emeli Sandé

PPL Most Played UK Artist on Commercial Radio


Chairman’s Award

John Mottram, formerly of Department Culture Media & Sport, now at PRS