Scots journalist, Deveney, among nominees in GB journalism awards

THE Scots freelance journalist, Catherine Deveney, has been shortlisted in awards celebrating the best of British journalism.

The awards – run by the Press Gazette website and digital magazine – also sees Scots journalist, Laura Kuenssberg, nominated for Business Finance and Economics Journalist of the Year.

Deveney is named in the Breaking News category, for her work in The Observer newspaper, which sparked a train of events that was to lead to the resignation of Cardinal Keith O’Brien, and a statement by him of ‘sexual conduct… below the standards expected…’.

Also, BBC Scotland’s Sins of our Fathers was given a nod in the Investigation of the Year category.

The shortlist reads:

Business Finance and Economics Journalist of the Year 

Tom Bergin, Reuters

Stephen Grey, Reuters

Sarah O’Connor, Financial Times

Laura Kuenssberg, ITV News

John Gapper, Financial Times

David Enrich, The Wall Street Journal Europe

Breaking News Award

Channel 4 News: Plebgate – Plebs, lies and videotape

Exaro, the Murdoch recording

The Independent (Tom Harper), blue-chip hacking revelations

The Observer (Catherine Deveney), UK’s top cardinal accused of ‘inappropriate acts’ by priests

The Sunday Times (Insight), Generals for hire

The Times (Anthony Loyd), Revealed: tragic victims of Syria’s nerve gas war

Campaign of the Year

Child sexual exploitation, The Times

Fight for April, The Sun

Ladder for London, London Evening Standard

Safe Weekend Care, The Sunday Times

Wedding for terminally ill cancer sufferer, Scunthorpe Telegraph

Westminster for Sale, The Sunday Times

Foreign Affairs Journalist of the Year

Anthony Loyd, The Times

Hala Jaber, The Sunday Times

Katrina Manson, The Financial Times

Kim Sengupta, The Independent

Patrick Coburn, The Independent

Richard Lloyd Parry, The Times

Investigation of the Year

The Snowden Files, The Guardian

Sins of our Fathers, BBC Scotland

Plebgate – Plebs, Lies and Videotape, Channel 4 Dispatches

Grooming scandal, Andrew Norfolk, The Times

David Hunt (The Untouchable), Michael Gillard, The Sunday Times

Cancer surgeon with high death rates, Jeanette Oldham, Birmingham Mail

New Journalist of the Year (for journalists who have been in the industry for three years or less)

Alex Ralph, The Times

Fiona O’Cleirigh, Exaro News

Maeve McClenaghan, The Bureau of Investigative Journalism

Patrick Kingsley, The Guardian

Sarah Morrison, The Independent

Simon Murphy, The Mail on Sunday

Photojournalist of the Year

Jeremy Selwyn, London Evening Standard

Mark Scott, The Sentinel

Oli Scarff, Getty Images

Richard Pohle, The Times

Suzanne Plunkett, Thomson Reuters

Politics Journalist of the Year

Amelia Gentleman, The Guardian

Janan Ganesh, Financial Times

Joe Murphy, London Evening Standard

Neil Elkes, Birmingham Post and Mail

Steve Richards, freelance for The Guardian and The Independent

Jonathan Calvert and Heidi Blake, The Sunday Times Insight team

Journalism Innovation of the Year

360 degree interactive camera, Lewis Whyld

GuardianWitness, The Guardian

Ooh-Ar augmented reality platform (as used in The Sentinel and Bristol Post)


The Brixton Bugle and Brixton Blog

Voices in Danger, The Independent

Sports Journalist of the Year

Christian Sylt, freelance for City AM and The Independent

David Conn, The Guardian

Ian Herbert, The Independent

Luke Edwards, Telegraph Media Group

Mark Ogden, Telegraph Media Group

Sam Wallace, The Independent

Science and Technology Journalist of the Year 

Robin McKie, The Observer

Pallab Ghosh, BBC

Leslie Hook, Financial Times

Helen Thomson, New Scientist

Gareth Iacobucci, British Medical Journal

Andrew Gregory, Daily Mirror