Media Awards: RTS Student Television Awards

STUDENTS from the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, in Glasgow, have been named winners at an UK-wide competition run by the Royal Television Society.

The trio – Michael Crumley, Rosemary Levine and Jonathan Blair – took the Undergraduate Fiction title at the RTS Student Television Awards.

They were joined by several Scots who reached the shortlist.

The winners’ list reads:

Undergraduate Animation

Winner: The Light Bulb – Alicja Jasina – Kingston University

Say the judges: “A well-scripted, delightfully funny and subversive film that takes a wry, oblique look at the creative process of making a student film, whilst making one!”

Nominated: Innisfree – Don Carey – Irish School of Animation, Ballyfermot College of Further Education

Nominated: Poyo and Neko – Adam Gierasimiuk – Edinburgh College of Art

Undergraduate Entertainment

Winner: Telebox – Elliot Nelson, Alex Rudys, Nichola Emsley, Simeon Petkov and Gary Quan – University of Bradford

Say the judges:  “The jury thought Telebox was brave and ambitious despite its small production budget. The script was well-written with a clear narrative arc and the characters had been well thought through. It was executed to a high standard with accomplished direction.”

Nominated: Fist Punch – Ally Lockhart, Ruth Gallacher, Chris McGarrity, Kyle Spence and Guy Thomson – City of Glasgow College

Nominated: Mini Munchies – Bethany Lamont and Team – Bournemouth University

Undergraduate Factual

Winner: Birdman – Sam Clarke and Matt Farrant – Southampton Solent University

Say the judges: “The film captured a simple and moving story with visual ambition. During the making of this film the producers discovered a different story to one they had anticipated and the panel commended their drive to follow this new path to produce a more rewarding character driven film.”

Nominated: Twogether – Neringa Medutyte, Arnoldas Alubauskas, Liam Dowler and Jonathan Mason – University of South Wales

Nominated: Untold Story – Pawel Grzyb, Christopher McGill and Michal Zagorski – Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design

Undergraduate Fiction

Winner: Hannah – Michael Crumley, Rosemary Levine and Jonathan Blair – The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland

Say the judges: “A brave, moving, understated gem of a film. Highly assured direction and compelling performances deliver a poignant story of loneliness and isolation.”

Nominated: Snapshot – Diogo Guerner and Team – University of York

Nominated: Untitled Blues – B Welby-Delimere and Karin Kavanagh – The Arts University Bournemouth

Postgraduate Animation

Winner: Miss Todd – Kristina Yee, Frances Poletti, Suzanne Mayger and Team – National Film and Television School

Say the judges: “An ambitious well-directed film that delivers its inspirational message with confidence. The cut-out animation, art direction and camera work all come together beautifully.”

Nominated: The Dewberry Empire – Christian Schlaeffer and Carla MacKinnon – Royal College of Art

Nominated: The Magnificent Lion Boy – Ana Caro, James Cotton, Jonathan Carr and Team – National Film and Television School

Postgraduate Entertainment

Winner: Killer Moves – Ben Hillyar, Tim Partridge and Team – National Film and Television School

Say the judges: “An original concept with pacey writing and editing and clear characters with room to develop storylines across a series. The jury commended it for its ambition, execution and sheer watchability.”

Nominated: The Big Steal – Andre Sousa, Anti Reinthal and Team – National Film and Television School

Postgraduate Factual

Winner: Waiting for You – Lisa Fingleton – Goldsmiths, University of London

Say the judges: “An extremely moving and personal film with engaging story-telling that took the audience through a very real and raw experience with an ending that didn’t shy away from the truth.”

Nominated: Pablo’s Winter – Chico Pereira – Screen Academy Scotland, Edinburgh Napier University

Nominated: Sodiq – Adeyemi Michael and Team – National Film and Television School

Postgraduate Fiction

Winner: Border Patrol – Peter Baumann and Nishad Chaughule – The Northern Film School at Leeds Metropolitan University

Say the judges: “Clever, inventive and with lovely performances, this exceptionally well-scripted film delivers as a black comedy with a great twist.”

Nominated: Cocoons – Joasia Goldyn, Sarah Woolner, Dan Demissie and Team – National Film and Television School

Nominated: Wasted – Cathy Brady, James Walker and Team – National Film and Television School