Media Awards: Student Radio Awards

AN Edinburgh University student was, on Thursday night, named a winner at the Student Radio Awards.

Calum Macdonald took the title, Best Male [presenter], at the awards, which also saw his university’s radio station, FreshAir, remarkably take both gold and silver in the Best Event or Outside Broadcast category.

The full winners’ list reads, as follows:

Best Event or Outside Broadcast

Gold: EDQT – FreshAir
Silver: White Paper Day Publication – FreshAir
Bronze: The Welsh Varsity 2014 – Xpress Radio

The Student Radio Chart Show Award

Gold: Pure FM
Silver: The Cat 1251
Bronze: Radio Sonar

Best Technical Achievement

Gold: Responsive Radio – 1449AM URB
Silver: Studio in a Box – Purple Radio
Bronze: Nerve Extra – Nerve Radio

Best Interview

Gold: Luke Jones interview Lord Carey – KCL Radio
Silver: Boscastle: Ten Years On – SCRATCH RADIO
Bronze: Jay Lawrence interviews Matty from The 1975 – Livewire

Best Speech Programming

Gold: Sound in Silence – IC Radio
Silver: Brief History of You – URN
Bronze: RavenTales Original Series – CROWE – 1449AM URB

Best Journalistic Programming

Gold: The Student Underworld – SCRATCH RADIO
Silver: River Safety: York’s Rising Problem – URY
Bronze: The Pulse – URN

Best Specialist Music Programming

Gold: Eclectic Sessions – Hub Radio
Silver: Maddie’s Tea Party – Livewire
Bronze: Last Donut of the Night – 1449AM URB

Best Entertainment Programme

Gold: Sean Montague & Emily Sandford – Nerve Radio
Silver: Afternoons with Jay Lawrence – Livewire
Bronze: Maddie’s Tea Party – Livewire

Best Newcomer

Gold: George Ward – Radio ENRG
Silver: Jonny McGuigan – Leeds Student Radio
Bronze: Daniel Miller – W.A.C Radio

Best Marketing and Station Sound

Gold: Shock Radio
Silver: URN
Bronze: Purple Radio

Best Female

Gold: Izzie Clarke – URN
Silver: Victoria Payne – Leeds Student Radio
Bronze: Emily Sandford – Nerve Radio

Best Male

Gold: Calum Macdonald – FreshAir
Silver: Joel Grove – CSR
Bronze: Louis Chadwick – Shock Radio

The Kevin Greening Creativity Award

Brain Storm – Wired Radio
Silver: James Hanson – Leeds Student Radio
Bronze: Sean Montague and Emily Sandford – Nerve Radio

Best Student Radio Station

Gold – URN
Silver – 1449AM URB
Bronze – 107 Spark FM

Read more, here.