Media Awards: Highlands and Islands Media Awards

THE chief reporter with the Highland News has been named Journalist of the Year at the annual Highlands and Islands Media Awards.

Inverness-based Eilidh Davies was – say the organisers – “the unanimous choice of the judges, having also won the Reporter of the Year title and being shortlisted in the Top Story of the Year category”.

In an announcement, Gordon Fyfe, chair of the media awards’ judging panel, is quoted, as saying: “Eilidh produced an excellent portfolio of news reports and features, all with a strong human interest element. She is a worthy winner and joins an elite group of writers and photographers to lift this coveted prize.”

The winners are:

Best Use of Gaelic

Shona MacDonald, BBC Alba

Best Use of Digital Media

Am Pàipear Uist

Photographer of the Year

Trevor Martin, freelance, Inverness

Top Shot of the Year 

Willie Urquhart, West Highland Free Press

Young Journalist of the Year and the Alex Main Trophy

David Kerr, The Press and Journal, Inverness

Sports Reporter of the Year

Euan Paterson, Oban Times

Reporter of the Year and the Jim Love Memorial Trophy

Eilidh Davies, Highland News

Top Story of the Year

Jane Candlish, The Press and Journal, Inverness

Feature Writer of the Year

Jim Tait, Shetland Times

Community Newspaper of the Year

Am Pàipear, Uist

Newspaper of the Year

Strathspey and Badenoch Herald

Journalist of the Year

Eilidh Davies, Highland News

Barron Trophy for Lifetime Achievement in Journalism

Neil MacPhail, The Press and Journal, Inverness