Media Release: Glasgow Clyde College media students launch national student journalism competition


A GROUP of media students from Glasgow Clyde College have launched this year’s prestigious nationwide competition that acknowledges journalism students’ work across all of Scotland’s colleges and universities.

Second-year HND Media and Communications students at Glasgow Clyde College, Bridget Dingwani, Mary-Rose Brennan and Emma Shearer, are behind the running of this year’s Scottish Student Journalism Awards (SSJA).

The awards ceremony will be held at The National Piping Centre in Cowcaddens on the 26th of May. The competition is now open and will be judged by high-profile industry professionals including Hugh MacDonald, Mark Daly and Alan Muir.

The awards will be hosted by The Scottish Sun chief features writer, Matt Bendoris.

Guest speaker is yet to be announced.

Fred Hannah, senior lecturer for Media Studies at Glasgow Clyde College, said: “This is the fifth year we have been running the SSJA and the students have been working extremely hard to deliver a brilliant and successful night for those in attendance and I am confidently hopeful that this year will be the biggest and best we’ve had so far.”

19 year-old Bridget said: “We are delighted to have been given the opportunity to organise such a huge event and we have all been working really hard to make this event a success. We are hoping to get more entries across Scotland this year.”

The Scottish Student Journalism Awards is set to boast a judging panel that includes prominent editors and reporters from national media outlets including The Herald, Sunday Mail, BBC, STV and The Scottish Sun.

The deadline for entries to the competition is Monday the 18th of April at 5pm.

Students from a journalism course in colleges or universities are invited to submit their work and can request an application pack by emailing

Entries are invited for the competition’s 11 categories, which are as follows: News Story of the Year, Calum MacDonald Memorial Award, Scoop of the Year, Broadcast Story of the Year, Student Website of the Year, Sports Story of the Year, Arts & Entertainment, Student Journalist of the Year, Student Publication, and Feature Story of the Year. There will be a new category renamed in memory of the late columnist, Ian Bell, called NUJ Ian Bell Column of the Year.


For more information on the Scottish Student Journalism Awards, please email:

Contact: Bridget Dingwani