Media Release: Royal Television Society announces nominees for Student Television Awards 2016

Head to left of 3 line RTS small

THE Royal Television Society (RTS), Britain’s leading forum for television and related media, has today announced the nominations for the RTS Student Television Awards 2016.

Chaired by Stuart Murphy, the awards celebrate the best in student television across the UK. The undergraduate and postgraduate awards are judged in six categories – animation, comedy and entertainment, drama, factual, news and open.

In addition, to reward excellence in craft skills, undergraduate and postgraduate awards will be presented for camerawork, editing and sound. Entries are not accepted for these categories and the prizes will be awarded at the judges’ discretion.

Students from higher education institutions across England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland are represented in the nominations, including Bournemouth University; Edinburgh College of Art; Goldsmiths, University of London; Kingston University; Liverpool John Moores University; The National Film and Television School; Plymouth University; Queen’s University, Belfast; Royal College of Art; Sheffield Hallam University; Teeside University; The Arts University, Bournemouth; The Manchester Film School at The Manchester College; The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland; University of Edinburgh; University for the Creative Arts; University of Leeds; University of Sheffield; and University of South Wales.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony on Friday 3 June at the BFI Southbank.

The nominated films will also be available to view on Sky Arts’ on demand service, following the awards.

For more information, visit:

The nominations:

Undergraduate animation

Bluebarry, Tommy Vad Flaaten and Markus Vad Flaaten, Kingston University
Dresslocked, Domareen Fox, Teesside University
The Armadillo and the Earwig, Ben Cresswell, Edinburgh College of Art

Undergraduate comedy and entertainment

ICT, James Webb, Reece Ronan, Lauren Briggs and Curtis Mahoney, Sheffield Hallam University
The Switch, Olly Philpott-Smith, Lauren Brown, Sam Okell and Faisal Muhammed, The Manchester Film School at The Manchester College
Valentines Park, Leah Revivo, Joseph Mills, Bradley Kiel and Oliver McMillan, University for the Creative Arts

Undergraduate drama

Gnomes, Josh Mullins, Mike Priest, Colin Donaldson and Shani Vizma, Liverpool John Moores University
Starfish, Louise Dawson, Dayna Baptie and Fergus Thom, The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland
Tehzeeb, Myriam Raja and Eloise Rudd, Arts University Bournemouth

Undergraduate factual

Dipper from the Water of Leith, Kris Kubik, University of Edinburgh
Eat, then Wait for the Night, Jing Zhao, Teesside University
La Deriva Dei Continenti, Pietro Novello and Alexander G Simpson, Arts University Bournemouth

Undergraduate news

Sexabled, Kin Hang Lee, University of Sheffield
Wars on the Moors, Alexander James Nicol, Plymouth University

Undergraduate open

An Unfortunate End: The Boy & The Fairy, Jordanne Richards, University of South Wales
Fridge Wars, Rebecca Daniel, University of Leeds
Insert FILM TITLE here, I guess, Urmas Salu, University for the Creative Arts

Postgraduate animation

Edmond, Nina Gantz and Emilie Jouffroy, National Film and Television School
Fulfilament, Rhiannon Evans, Joe Murtagh and Alexandra Breede, National Film and Television School
Mr Madila, Rory Waudby-Tolley, Royal College of Art

Postgraduate comedy and entertainment

Monster Hunters, Brigitta Szaszfai and Jonathan Dakin, National Film and Television School
The Life of a Sober Man, The Team, Bournemouth University

Postgraduate drama

Fractured City, Sean Murray, Queen’s University, Belfast
Group B, Nick Rowland, Alexandra Breede and Joe Murtagh, National Film and Television School
Sick, David Winstone and Josh Lowe, National Film and Television School

Postgraduate factual

Chasing Dad, Philip Wood, Goldsmiths University of London
Esta Vida (This Life), Lyttanya Shannon, National Film and Television School
The Heart’s Scar, Thuy Le and Tiago Espirito Santo, Bournemouth University

Postgraduate news

Brits in Poland, Anna Senkara, Goldsmiths, University of London
Cloning: Tailored for Success, Anna Lidster, Goldsmiths, University of London

Postgraduate open

Crunchy, Simon Cartwright and Jacob Thomas, National Film and Television School
Office Romance, Rebecca Gibson and Kat Pearl, National Film and Television School

Craft skills awards

Awards for camerawork, editing and sound will be presented to both undergraduates and postgraduates on the night.

These are selected at the national judges’ discretion.

MEDIA RELEASE issued by Hobnob PR. You too can share your stories (aka press or media releases), on Email here for more information.

Check out for your very own media releases feed…

Check out too

To catch up on all the media releases recently posted on to, you need only click the link icon that you see towards the bottom right of our two media release ‘gateway boxes’. 

Link iconIt’s this icon, here. It’s your route straight into the rich archive.

Hobnob PR contact details…

Contact: Mary Bennett