Media Release: Royal Television Society Scotland announces winners of Student Television Awards 2017

RTSStudentWinners001 - Aurora Gibson, James McAlpine and Marsaili Stewart-Skinner, winners of the craft awards

THE Royal Television Society (RTS) Scotland held its annual Student Television Awards at The Hub, Pacific Quay, Glasgow on Wednesday 1 March.

The event was hosted by Henry Eagles, who also chaired the judges.

The awards celebrate the best in student television from across Scotland and were presented this year in four categories: animation, comedy and entertainment, drama and factual.

The award in the animation category was presented to Ben Cresswell, Tuomas Kytöniemi, and Athos Tsiopani from Edinburgh College of Art (University of Edinburgh) for ‘Gnome’.

The jury admired the animation’s accomplished mix of stop motion and CGI. They felt the film was visually clear and said the music and sound was done well.

Eric Romero from Edinburgh Napier University received two awards on the night – excelling in both the comedy and entertainment and the drama categories.

His film, ‘Native Immigration’ won in the comedy and entertainment category, with the jury agreeing that this was a technically well done and well-presented piece with high production values and a great use of graphics.

In the drama category, Romero’s film, ‘Lethe’, was declared a “little gem” by the jury who felt it was a well shot, first-class production which delivered punch and worked on an emotional level.

The award in the factual category went to Jamie Sutherland, Kate Galbraith, Calum McIntosh, and Sean Hayman from University of Stirling for ‘The Cornerman’.

The jury was impressed by this well shot, professionally produced film. They felt the piece was enjoyable to watch with good access to interesting interviewees.

The winners:


Winner: Gnome

Ben Cresswell, Tuomas Kytöniemi, and Athos Tsiopani

Edinburgh College of Art / University of Edinburgh



Dominica Harrison

Edinburgh College of Art / University of Edinburgh

Comedy and entertainment

Winner: Native Immigration

Eric Romero

Edinburgh Napier University


Winner: Lethe

Eric Romero

Edinburgh Napier University



Ben Hunter, Lisa Ferguson and James McAlpine

The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland


Amber Simpson, Lily Olley, David McMahon and Kirsty McNeil

The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland


Winner: The Cornerman

Jamie Sutherland, Kate Galbraith, Calum McIntosh and Sean Hayman

University of Stirling


Man on Layby 52

Beth Woodruff and Ruaridh McIntosh Turner

The University of Edinburgh

Ups and Downs

Laura Beaton, Jemma Campbell, Andrea Linhova and Gemma Miller

University of Stirling

The craft excellence awards

Camera: James McAlpine


The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland

Sound: Marsaili Stewart-Skinner


The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland

Production design: Aurora Gibson


The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland


MEDIA RELEASE issued by hobnob PR. You too can share your stories (aka press or media releases), on Email here for more information.

Check out for your very own media releases feed…

Check out too and

Stay connected with our various twitter feeds: CharitiesDrinkEducationEnergyFashionFilmFoodGardensLegalMotorsMusicOutdoorsPropertyScience and Sports. And not forgetting FinanceTheatreTravelFestivalsVisual ArtsAberdeenDundeeEdinburghGlasgowInvernessPerth and Stirling.

To catch up on all the media releases recently posted on to, you need only click the link icon that you see towards the bottom right of our two media release ‘gateway boxes’. 

Link iconIt’s this icon, here. It’s your route straight into the rich archive.


hobnob PR contact details…

Contact: Mary Bennett