Media release: RTS announces winners of its Scottish Student Television Awards

RTS Logo Horizontal 1500px

THE Royal Television Society’s Scottish branch, RTS Scotland – one of the leading British forums  for television and related media – last night celebrated new talent and excellence in student television production in Scotland, as it announced the winners of the RTS Scotland Student Television Awards 2018.

Chaired by James Wilson, curriculum head (Industry Academy and Youth Employability) at City of Glasgow College, the awards recognise the best audiovisual work created by students from universities and colleges across Scotland, in the genres of animation, factual, comedy and entertainment, short feature and drama.

In addition, awards were presented for production design, sound, editing and camera. A record number of 40 entries were received this year from ten different institutions.

The winners and nominees were announced at a ceremony, hosted by comedy actor, Karen Dunbar, on Wednesday 31 January at Glasgow’s Cottier’s Theatre. The event was attended by award entrants and key Scottish television industry professionals. Full details can be found at

James Wilson, chair of the RTS Scotland Student Television Awards said, “It has been a privilege chairing the awards for the first time this year. I was impressed by the depth of the judges’ evaluation and the care that they took over the consideration of every entry. We were lucky to get the chance to enjoy the student’s talent before they embark upon their professional careers.”

Jane Muirhead, RTS Scotland chair added, “The RTS Scotland Student Awards continue to play an important role in supporting the next generation of production technicians studying in Scotland. The standard of work produced, continues to be impressive and challenging.”

The RTS Scotland Student Television Awards 2018 are sponsored by Mediaspec, a leading reseller of audio, video and storage solutions to the media industry in the UK.

The winners:


Expedition, Samantha Hendrie, University of the West of Scotland

“Expedition married poetry and visuals well to convey a powerful emotional story.”

The Bad Fire, Pamela Gray, Edinburgh College of Art

The Oddler, Zoe Hutber and Denisa Uherova, University of Edinburgh

Comedy and entertainment

Best Men, Andrew Ashworth and Alia Ghafar, Edinburgh College of Art

“The judges identified the way Best Men combined ratcheting up the tension with laugh out loud moments – they were impressed by both the warmth of the piece and its technical accomplishment.”


Dentures of Death, Elias Sommer, Reece Smith, Tatjana Stevenson Oake, and Wayne Mazadza, University of Edinburgh

When I’m Alone, Joss Kelly, Eve Park, Callum McLaughlin and Alice Restrick, Glasgow Clyde College

Short feature

Poet With Punch, Zdenek Ruzicka, Amber Saunders, Paul McGranahan and Ryan Smith, University of the West of Scotland

“Poet With Punch had originality and the judges were impressed with the quality of the sound design.“


The Worst Enemy, Tam Hetherton, Christy Kail, Donald Maclean, Joseph Obrien, Glasgow Clyde College

Sweeping Canvasses, Callum McLaughlin, Elizabeth Gardiner, Ewan Gaff, Sophie Franklin, Glasgow Clyde College


Antonio, Alison Still, Royal Conservatoire of Scotland

“The judges were impressed by Antonio’s ambition. Period drama is challenging and the production design was exceptional. As was the producers use of a historical drama to highlight a very modern issue.”


Brothers, Louis Clark, Laura Briggs, Catriona MacLellan, Edinbugh Napier University

Salt & Sauce, Alia Ghafar, Clara Mumford-Turner, Beth Woddruff, Edinburgh College of Art


Hear Me Now, Maria Craig, Josefin Dahlin, Hannah McKelvie, Joel Rock, University of Stirling

“Hear Me Now focused on a really strong story and the emotional power of contributors reflecting upon a childhood experience that affected their whole lives.”


The Bladesmith, Andrew Berry, Jack Jeffrey, Glasgow Clyde College

Disco Wolf, Kaja Kryda, Ryan McGuckin, Claudia Docherty, Olga Dubianowska, Anisha Bag, University of Stirling

Craft award winners:


The Bladesmith, Andrew Berry, Glasgow Clyde College


Salt & Sauce, Mario Cruzado, Edinburgh College of Art


Salt & Sauce, James Wright, Edinburgh College of Art

Production design

Antonio, Siiri Korhonen, Royal Conservatoire of Scotland


Notes to editors:

About The Royal Television Society

From glamorous award ceremonies to lively debates, the RTS embraces all aspects of television, and is open to anyone with an interest in the medium.

As an educational charity, we encourage and celebrate work in television and its related fields, from finding out how the nation’s favourite shows are made in our Anatomy of a Hit series, to celebrating burgeoning talent at our annual Student Awards.

The industry’s most talented individuals give us an insight into the work that goes into making cutting edge contemporary TV. From Government ministers and CEO’s to workshops with great runners, our events look at every part of the business.

Our annual Television Journalism, Programme, Craft and Design and Student Awards, celebrate achievements across the broadcasting industry.

Education is key to what the RTS does. Each year, we offer Television Production and Technology bursaries to help those from less affluent backgrounds get a foothold in the industry and Masterclass sessions bring together students, academics and industry heads.

RTS Futures, which is aimed at those in their first two years of employment, organises an exciting roster of discussion, training and social occasions. Recent events have included workshops on learning to format shows and how to survive as a freelancer, and expert panels explaining how to be the best researcher and how to make it on-screen.

Each year, global television leaders gather to discuss what the future holds for television at our London Conference or the RTS Cambridge Convention.

Alongside our engaged community of over 4,500 full members, the Society is supported by Britain and the world’s biggest broadcasters, producers and consultants, including Principle Patrons BBC, Channel 4, ITV and Sky.

Originally founded as the Television Society in 1927, the Society was granted its Royal title in 1966 and HRH The Prince of Wales became Patron of the RTS in 1997.

Today, 14 regional and national groups curate lively events and awards around the UK and Ireland, from Glasgow to Galway.

For further information please contact:

Jenny Burbage

Bubble Agency

+44 (0) 7785996340
Cheryl Strong

+44 (0) 7900 688 431

MEDIA RELEASE issued by Bubble Agency. You too can share your stories (aka press or media releases), on this site. Email here for more information.

Check out for your very own media releases feed…

Check out too, and

Stay connected with our various twitter feeds: CharitiesDrinkEducationEnergyFashionFilmFoodGardensLegalMotorsMusicOutdoorsPropertyScience and Sports. And not forgetting FinanceTheatreTravelFestivalsVisual ArtsAberdeenDundeeEdinburghGlasgowInvernessPerth and Stirling.

Bubble Agency contact details…

Contact: Jenny Burbage