Media release: BWS/WES announce business awards finalists


BUSINESS Women Scotland (BWS) and Women’s Enterprise Scotland (WES) have announced the shortlist for their 2018 Business Awards. (Full shortlist below)

Established and emerging business leaders from as far north as Orkney down to Campbeltown and the Scottish Borders have been chosen as finalists for the awards, which this year received a 200 per cent year on year increase in entries across 14 categories, giving the Judging Panel* the difficult task of determining just 49 finalists.

The BWS/WES Awards are hosted jointly by Scotland’s two leading female business organisations, each dedicated to helping women find support and networking opportunities to allow them to strengthen their business. With the awards, BWS and WES collaborate to celebrate the ongoing achievements and vital economic contribution made by Scottish women in business.

BWS founding director, Lynne Kennedy MBE, notes: “Year on year, the female business community plays an increasingly important role in supporting the country’s economy, and with these awards, we aim to both highlight and celebrate the value of the talented women who are successfully blazing the trail in practically every sector of the Scottish economy.”

Carolyn Currie, CEO of WES, comments: “Research consistently shows that visible role models are a key driver in encouraging women to start and grow their own businesses. These awards provide the perfect platform for women across all sectors and from throughout Scotland to showcase the vital contribution they are making to Scotland’s thriving business ecosystem. We need more women to step forward and help us close the persistent gender gap in enterprise, with just 20 per cent of SMEs in Scotland currently being majority owned and led by women.”

Winners of the BWS/WES Scottish Business Awards 2018, which is supported by ScotlandCanDo, and counts amongst its sponsors, Scottish Enterprise, HIE, Business Gateway, Dentons, FSB and Royal Bank of Scotland, will be announced at a glittering ceremony which takes place in the Grand Central hotel in Glasgow on Friday 2 November 2018.


For further media information on the awards, please contact:

Gaynor Simpson of WES

Mary-Jo Devlin of BWS

Notes to editors:


Best Use of Social Media

  • Kylie Reid – EGG Edinburgh
  • Kirsty Nicholls – Sweet Pea Media Edinburgh
  • Gillian Crawford – WOW (Scotland) Stirling

Board Member of the Year

  • Ailsa Campbell – Crieff Community Trust Crieff
  • Tracey Chrystal – Glasgow Credit Union Glasgow
  • Gillian Thomson – Inspire (Partnership through Life) Aberdeen
  • Tracy Griffin – Leith Festival Leith

Business Woman of the Year

  • Ann Johnson – Blaze Manufacturing Solutions Laurencekirk, Aberdeenshire
  • Jillian Anderson – Kilpatrick Blane Services Greenock
  • Poonam Gupta OBE – PG Paper Company Greenock
  • Becky Woodhouse – PURE Spa & Beauty Edinburgh

Change Catalyst of the Year

  • Angie Foreman – Coca-Cola 5by20 Dundee
  • Pamela Stevenson – Fife Economy Partnership Glenrothes

Employer of the Year

  • Arnold Clark Glasgow
  • Kirsty Mackenzie – iMultiply Edinburgh
  • Jillian Anderson – Kilpatrick Blane Services Greenock
  • Yvonne Moffat – Net Talent Edinburgh
  • Becky Woodhouse – PURE Spa & Beauty Edinburgh

Growth Business of the Year

  • Araminta Campbell – Araminta Campbell Edinburgh
  • Jo-Anne Chidley – Beauty Kitchen Wishaw
  • Becky Woodhouse – PURE Spa & Beauty Edinburgh
  • Jude Cook – ShareIn Edinburgh

Innovator of the year

  • Jane MacDonald – Excel Vending East Kilbride
  • Alex Feechan – FINDRA Clothing Innerleithen
  • Kirsty Lunn – Molke Scone
  • Amanda Pickford – Shock Innovations Kelso
  • Errin Todd – Todd Fish Tech Fife

International Growth of the Year

  • Jo-Anne Chidley – Beauty Kitchen Wishaw
  • Jennifer Mackenzie – TEFL Org Inverness

Mentor of the Year

  • Jackie Flett – Hepburns Nail Lounge St Andrews
  • Liz Hoskin – Positive Qualities Larbert
  • Karen Moore – Karen Moore Biz Edinburgh
  • Jacqui Gale – Jacqui Gale International Newtongrange

Rising Star of the Year

  • Heather McDaid and Laura Jones – 404 Ink Edinburgh
  • Lucy Ball – Greenroom Films Edinburgh
  • Anneli Ritari – Stewart iProspect Edinburgh
  • Olivia Conlon – The Property Stagers Bothwell

Rural Business of the year

  • Emma Macalister Hall – Beinn an Tuirc Distillers Campbelltown
  • Alex Feechan – FINDRA Clothing Innerleithen
  • Kirsten Sinclair – The Hygge Clinic/Orkney Podiatry Orkney
  • Jennifer Robertson – Spey Moray

Social Impact of the Year

  • Celia Hodson – Hey Girls CIC Dunbar
  • Hermine Mbiku Makangu Kinkela – Mbikudi Glasgow
  • Sara Hawkins – Projekt 42 Edinburgh

Sole Trader of the Year

  • Gail Bryden – JustBe Botanicals
  • Lindsey Anne Knox – Wishing Well Emotional Wellbeing Centre Forfar

Start Up Business of the Year

  • Arti Poddar – Guy & Beard Glasgow
  • Celia Hodson – Hey Girls CIC Dunbar
  • Kirsty Lunn – Molke Scone


Susan Harkins MBA, head of Business Gateway, Edinburgh

Yvonne Greaves, head of Women in Business, RBS, Nat West, Ulster Bank

Vicky Brook,  co-founder of award winning Get Market Fit

Amanda Jones, employment and discrimination law specialist

Jeanette Forbes, founder of award winning, multi-national PCL Group

Celia Tennent, chief executive at Inspiring Scotland

Justine Mitchell, owner/director of award-winning Chamomile Sanctuary

MEDIA RELEASE issued by Emjay PR. You too can share your stories (aka press or media releases), on this site. Email here for more information.

Check out for your very own media releases feed…

Stay connected with our various twitter feeds: CharitiesDrinkEducationEnergyFashionFilmFoodGardensLegalMotorsMusicOutdoorsPropertyScience and Sports. And not forgetting FinanceTheatreTravelFestivalsVisual ArtsAberdeenDundeeEdinburghGlasgowInvernessPerth and Stirling.

Emjay PR contact details…

Contact: Mary-Jo Devlin