Media release: RTS Scotland announces its 2019 Student Awards winners

RTS Logo Horizontal 1500px

THE Royal Television Society’s (RTS) Scotland centre last night honoured the winners of its 2019 Student Awards, sponsored by STV, at a glittering ceremony held at The Argyle Street Arches, Glasgow.

The event was hosted by STV News entertainment reporter, Laura Boyd, and comedic double act, Link & Lorne.

The RTS Student Awards celebrates the best audio-visual work created by students at undergraduate and postgraduate level in ten categories across Animation, Comedy and entertainment, Drama, Short form, Factual, Production design, Editing, Sound, Camera, and, new this year – Writing.

The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland led the way with its students taking home five of the awards, with the University of Glasgow making its first ever entry and winning in the Short form category, and the University of Stirling scooping all three nominations and the win for the Factual award.

James Wilson, chair of RTS Scotland Student Television Awards, said: “The judges were greatly impressed by the high standard and ambition of this year’s submissions. These awards play an important role in supporting the talent of tomorrow’s television industry and STV’s involvement giving us the opportunity to view the entries online ensures the work reaches a wider audience.”

Added Simon Pitts, chief executive officer, STV: “It’s a hugely exciting time for Scotland’s creative industries. By supporting new talent, we can ensure Scotland remains at the forefront of creativity. STV is delighted to be offering a platform to the nominees by showcasing their programmes on the STV Player, with highlights of tonight’s event also available. Beyond tonight, my colleagues at STV will offer mentoring for the winners to support their entry into this vibrant industry.”

All commended, nominated and winning films will be available along with the highlights on STV player:

The full list of nominations and winners:


WINNER – ‘Cleaning in Progress’ – Grant Holden (Edinburgh College of Art)


‘Radioactive’ – Pamela Gray (Edinburgh College of Art)

‘Short Changed’ – Zoë Hutber (Edinburgh College of Art)

Comedy and entertainment

WINNER – ‘Maroon by Rob Auton’ – Kenneth Maguire, John Perivolaris, Katrina McDermott (Glasgow Clyde College)


‘Shred’ – Harvey Gardner, Arthur Johnson, Jack Jeffrey, Fraser Maclean (University of the West of Scotland)

‘Transcendental Medication’ – Arran Totten, Harry Mulvenna, Gemma Munro (Glasgow Clyde College)


WINNER – ‘What Separates Us From the Beast’ – Edward Kondracki, Sedona May Tubbs, Kieran Howe, JP Pezet, John Dew, Robin Boreham (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)


‘Last Confession’ – Ryan Stewart, Stuart McAlinden, David Paterson, Lewis Macleod (City of Glasgow College)

‘Incoming Tide’ – Joanna Ellis, Robin Boreham, Gabriel de Bruin, Sophie Wilkinson, Adai Faigen, Gemma McAdam, Niall Scott-Martin (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)

Short form

WINNER – ‘War Museum’ – Xavier Weiss, Angelo Perdikou, JuEunhae Knox, Greig King, Vincent Jozajtis, Alex Hodgson, Stephen Packe (University of Glasgow)


‘The Bo’ness Belle’ – Rob Casey, Jordan Rigmand, Gemma Munro (Glasgow Clyde College) – Commended

‘Jim Taylor: We Are Warriors’ – Matthew Glen (City of Glasgow College)

‘Metamorphosis’ – Ruth Christman (City of Glasgow College)


WINNER – ‘The Bad Guy’ – Cory Thomas, Laura Buchanan, Giulia Veronelli, Marco Di Gioia,Danny Flynn (University of Stirling)


‘Finding Your Feet’ – Stephanie Van Eck, Elizabeth Clutterbuck, Max Muirhead, Alexandra Jowett, Douglas Matheson (University of Stirling)

‘Tackling the Mind’ – Jack Haggerty, Kieran McAllister, Chris Stuart, Eva Prikler, Adil Aslam (University of Stirling)


WINNER – ‘Incoming Tide’ – Robin Boreham (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)

Production Design

WINNER – ‘Threnody’ – Paul Barrie (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)


WINNER – ‘The Last Sip’ – Martin Waldie, Christy Kail (Glasgow Clyde College)


WINNER – ‘Coalescence’ – Karo Pietilä (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)


WINNER – ‘Coalescence’ – Johnstone Macpherson-Stewart (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)

MEDIA RELEASE issued by DDA Blueprint. You too can share your stories (aka press or media releases), on this site. Email here for more information.

Check out for your very own media releases feed…

Check out too and

Stay connected with our various twitter feeds: CharitiesDrinkEducationEnergyFashionFilmFoodGardensLegalMotorsMusicOutdoorsPropertyScience and Sports. And not forgetting FinanceTheatreTravelFestivalsVisual ArtsAberdeenDundeeEdinburghGlasgowInvernessPerth and Stirling.

DDA Blueprint contact details…

Contact: Poppy Padgett