Media release: RTS Scotland announces winners of its 2020 Student Television Awards


THE Royal Television Society’s (RTS) Scotland Centre last night honoured the winners of its 2020 Student Television Awards, sponsored by STV, at a glittering ceremony held at The Everyman Cinema, Princes Square, Glasgow. The event was hosted by STV entertainment reporter, Laura Boyd.

The RTS Student Television Awards celebrate the best audiovisual work created by students at undergraduate and postgraduate level in ten categories across Animation, Comedy & Entertainment, Drama, Short Form, Factual, Production Design, Editing, Sound, Camera, and Writing.

The University of Edinburgh led the way on the night, taking home four awards, with The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland following with two wins, retaining the gong for both Drama and Writing for a second year running.

James Wilson, chair of RTS Scotland Student Television Awards, said: “Our industry depends upon the development of young people, their skill growing with their confidence under the guidance of their tutors and mentors. This year’s programmes are as strong as ever and decisions were long argued and
often very close. Every nominated team and individual should be proud of their achievement.”

Added Simon Pitts, chief executive officer, STV: “Scotland is brimming with exciting creative talent and STV is very proud to be sponsoring the RTS Scotland Student Television Awards again this year.

“As last year, all the nominees will be offered a platform to showcase their fantastic programmes on the STV Player, where four-fifths of the Scottish population are already registered users. Highlights of the awards ceremony will also be available on the STV Player and beyond that STV will be offering mentoring to the winners as they start their journey in this exciting and vibrant industry.”

All nominated and winning films will be available on STV Player from 12th February 2020:

Please see below the full list of nominations and winners:


WINNER – Margin of Terror – Kieran McLister (University of Edinburgh)


Cohabitation – Eilidh Nicoll (University of Edinburgh)

Crust – Isabella Avery, James Crang, Amy Scott, Leah Bradbury, Sara Balestrieri, Matthew Errington, Andres Vasco (University of Edinburgh)

Comedy & Entertainment

WINNER – Flit – Jack Allen, Elías Nader, Ina Morken, Laurence Jenkins and Carey Melanie Osborne (University of Edinburgh)


The British Border – Kenneth Maguire, John Perivolaris, Gemma Munro, Eve Christie, Craig King, Caitlin Macintyre (Glasgow Clyde College)

Hello Angel  – Adam Burns, Niall MacRae (City of Glasgow College)


WINNER – Spare Parts – Paul Barrie, Victoria Jones, Martin MacLeod, Elettra Arnell, Karo Pietilä, Astrid Hjermind and Ana Meljo (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)


Lost Brothers – Alex Cormack, Julia Tirkkonen, Annie Phelan, Josh Partington, Eve Manson, Kirsty Scott (University of the West of Scotland)

We Three – Will Peppercorn, George Harwood and Grace Dickson (University of Edinburgh)

Short Form

WINNER – Tom Urie: Mental Health and Depression – Cameron Thom, Ryan Price, Emma Cunningham (City of Glasgow College)


Fighting Back – Kieran McNairn, Wardah Bilal, Edward Hallam, Cameron Rainey, Courtney Deans, Karolina Krok (Glasgow Clyde College)

Baby Boxes – Niall MacRae and Adam Burns (City of Glasgow College)


WINNER – Grime Scheme Scotland – Daniel Greig, Julian Greenwood, Lawrence Hector, Neil Cunninghame, Jack Darrer and Kieran Colquhoun (University of the West of Scotland)


Sisters in Song – Catherine Mitchell, Caroline McCaw and Campbell Wallace (University of Stirling)

Sannah Hussain – Outside Fighter – Sannah Hussain, JoJo Murray, Zane Apsite (City of Glasgow College)


WINNER – Spare Parts – Paul Barrie (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)

Production Design

WINNER – The Lost Sock – Molly Simmons (University of Edinburgh)


WINNER – My Urban Fox Film – Mikey Sneddon (Edinburgh Napier University)


WINNER – The Lost Sock – Laura Wiggett (University of Edinburgh)


WINNER – Adam and the Alphas – Murray Leitch (University of Stirling)


Picture: Two-time winner, Paul Barrie.

For further information please contact:

+44 20 7932 9800

About The Royal Television Society:

From glamorous award ceremonies to lively debates, the RTS embraces all aspects of television, and is open to anyone with an interest in the medium.

As an educational charity, we encourage and celebrate work in television and its related fields, from finding out how the nation’s favourite shows are made in our Anatomy of a Hit series, to celebrating burgeoning talent at our annual Student Awards.

The industry’s most talented individuals give us an insight into the work that goes into making cutting-edge contemporary TV. From Government ministers and CEOs to workshops with great runners, our events look at every part of the business.

Our annual Television Journalism, Programme, Craft and Design, and Student Awards celebrate achievements across the broadcasting industry.

Each year, we offer Television Production and Technology bursaries to help those from less affluent backgrounds get a foothold in the industry, and Masterclass sessions bring together students, academics and industry heads.

Global television leaders gather to discuss what the future holds for television at our London Conference or the RTS Cambridge Convention.

Alongside our engaged community of over 4,900 full members, the Society is supported by Britain and the world’s biggest broadcasters, producers and consultants, including Principal Patrons BBC, Channel 4, ITV and Sky.

Originally founded as the Television Society in 1927, the Society was granted its Royal title in 1966 and HRH The Prince of Wales became Patron of the RTS in 1997.

Today, 15 regional and national groups curate lively events and awards around the UK and Ireland, from Glasgow to Galway.

RTS Futures, which is aimed at those in their first two years of employment, organises an exciting roster of discussion, training and social occasions. Recent events have included workshops on learning how to format shows and how to survive as a freelancer, and expert panels explaining how
to be the best researcher and how to make it on-screen.

MEDIA RELEASE issued by DDA Blueprint. You too can share your stories (aka press or media releases), on this site. Email here for more information.

Check out for your very own media releases feed…

Check out too and

Stay connected with our various twitter feeds: CharitiesDrinkEducationEnergyFashionFilmFoodGardensLegalMotorsMusicOutdoorsPropertyScience and Sports. And not forgetting FinanceTheatreTravelFestivalsVisual ArtsAberdeenDundeeEdinburghGlasgowInvernessPerth and Stirling.

DDA Blueprint contact details…

Contact: Charlotte Newcombe