Media Release: South Ayrshire Council ensures Gaiety Theatre has bright new future


SOUTH Ayrshire Council yesterday approved a £800,000 deal for the Gaiety Theatre in Ayr that will see the cafe/bar re-opening in the near future and the box office being reinstated to deal with bookings for the Council’s wide artistic programme.

Begins a spokesperson: “It was standing room only in the Council chamber as Gaiety supporters packed in to hear plans for the theatre’s future – following scare stories that circulated the town at the weekend that the Gaiety was to close.

“They heard Roddy MacDonald, head of Community Development tell members that he recommended a £300,000 loan from the Ayr Common Good Fund to be added to the funding of £500,000 already earmarked for the Ayr Gaiety Partnership to allow the project to go ahead.”

The leader of South Ayrshire Council, Councillor Bill McIntosh, said: “We want the Gaiety to be re-established as a lively, thriving high quality arts venue delivering real community benefits. The decision by Council today confirmed that vision and focused on the practical next steps required to make it a reality.

“Reopening a theatre in the current economic climate will be challenging. We have confidence that the Ayr Gaiety Partnership, supported by the strategic steering group, is up for the task and the Council will be doing what it can to support the venture.

“The addition of support from the Council and links to other partners such as the University of the West of Scotland will enhance the provision for the Gaiety Theatre and help deliver a long term, sustainable and successful future for the Gaiety, to the benefit of residents and visitors to South Ayrshire.”

Ian Welsh, chair of the Ayr Gaiety Partnership, said: “I warmly welcome the decision taken today by South Ayrshire Council. The Gaiety Theatre is a key element in the renaissance of Ayr town centre.

“Having a fully operational theatre, that can cater for all tastes is the key to re-establishing Ayr and South Ayrshire as a must visit high quality arts venue.

“The decision of the Council has taken the Gaiety project another step forward and the Partnership looks forward to building on that with momentum and enthusiasm.”

Councillor Margaret Toner, Economic Development, Tourism and Leisure Portfolio Holder, said: “This is the start of a bright future for the Gaiety Theatre.

“I urge the people of Ayr to do their bit and for everyone to unite to make this a success. The huge public turnout for today’s meeting shows just how important the Gaiety theatre is to South Ayrshire residents and we’re fully committed to getting the Gaiety open for business.”


South Ayrshire Council is a founder member of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle.

The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle is an association founded in 2007 by some of the top companies in Ayrshire.

Its purpose is to publicise its members, and to celebrate and promote the rich diversity of industry, commerce and business services available within the county boundaries of Ayrshire.

Members include the Clydesdale Bank, Ayr Racecourse, Western House Hotel and South Ayrshire Council, and member company activities include broadcasting, building and construction, architectural practice, estate agency and land management, chartered accountancy, insurance broking, legal services, golf club management, marketing services and brand creation, web design and public relations consultancy.

Frazer Coogans Solicitors senior partner Norman Geddes is executive chair of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle, and managing director is public relations consultancy Fame Publicity Services proprietor Murdoch MacDonald.

For further information about The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle and to apply for membership, e-mail eliteayrshire@gmail.com

Founder members of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle:

South Ayrshire Council http://www.south-ayrshire.gov.uk
Clydesdale Bank http://www.cbonline.co.uk
Turnberry Hotel and Golf Resort http://www.turnberry.co.uk
Ayr Racecourse http://www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk
Western House Hotel http://www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk/hotel.html
CKD Galbraith Property Consultants http://www.ckdgalbraith.co.uk
Frazer Coogans Solicitors http://www.frazercoogans.co.uk
Accident & Injury Claims Centre http://www.accidentclaims.com
MacKay Corporate Insurance Brokers http://www.mackaycorporate-brokers.com
Donald Ross Estate Agents: http://www.donaldross.co.uk
Westgale Ltd Building Contractors http://www.westgale.co.uk
Sinclair Scott Chartered Accountants http://www.sinclairscott.com
Paligap Creative Agency http://www.paligap.com
ARP Lorimer & Associates Architects http://www.arpl.co.uk
JB Management – Training Providers http://www.jb-management.com
Brunston Castle Golf Club http://www.brunstoncastle.co.uk
Visimetrics http://www.visimetrics.com
Fouters Restaurant http://www.fouters.co.uk
Christie Financial Planning Ltd http://www.christiefp.com
Allison Lightbody Waddell Chartered Surveyors http://www.alwsurveyors.com
Kestrel Press http://www.kestrelpress.com
Fame Publicity Services Public Relations Consultancy http://www.famepublicity.co.uk
West Sound Radio http://www.westsound.co.uk
Easton Property
Easton Kitchens & Bathrooms

Website: http://www.eliteayrshire.com

MEDIA RELEASE posted by Fame Publicity Services. You too can post media releases (aka press releases) on allmediascotland.com. For more information, email here.

Contact: Murdoch MacDonald
Phone: 01292 281498
Email: famepublicity@aol.com
Website: http://www.A