Media Release: Trials legend, Dougie Lampkin, out for revenge at 100th Scottish Six Days Trial


THE Scottish Six Day Trial (SSDT) marks a special date in the events calendar for thousands of trials fans the world over, but for one man the centenary edition of the SSDT is even more important than usual.

Last year, saw 12-times FIM Trial World Champion and all-round motorcycle trials legend Dougie Lampkin’s SSDT campaign fall at the first hurdle when his machine suffered from an uncharacteristic fault on the first day, effectively ruling him out of a podium position before the event had even got into full swing.

Having previously claimed victory at the prestigious event an impressive five times before, Lampkin is out for revenge during 2011 and will look to give Spanish manufacturer Gas Gas their first win since Steve Colley won way back in 2000.

“The SSDT is a massive event in the trials world and the fact that this year it celebrates its one hundredth birthday makes it all the more special for me,” explained Lampkin.

“I always enjoy meeting up with the rest of the industry at the SSDT – not only is it a great trial, but it’s also a fantastic social event.

“This year marks the centenary of the event, which just goes to show how well established it is – victory at the SSDT is much more than just another win for me.”

The last time Dougie was crowned king of the SSDT was back in 2009 when he once again showed his dominance of this unique event.

Lampkin also took a hat-trick of victories during 1994, 1995 and 1996, as he was beginning to establish himself on the world scene.

Lampkin does have an advantage, of sorts.

He comes from a family of trial-hardened Yorkshiremen whose illustrious surname is synonymous with the sport.

This is down to a rich and celebrated history, borne from generations of success in their homeland (and around the world), including numerous victories at the SSDT.

Between Dougie, his father Martin and uncles Arthur and Alan (aka Sid), the Lampkins have won the SSDT ten times.

Throw in cousin John, who was runner-up in 1989 and finished third in 1986, 1991 and 1992, and his other cousin James – third in 2004 – into the mix and a Lampkin has been on the rostrum more than 20  times in the last 50 years.

Having spent the last few weeks working closely with the Gas Gas factory ensuring his machine is fully prepared for the SSDT in May, Lampkin is now confident that he has everything he needs to record his sixth SSDT win.

Lampkin said: “I’ve spent plenty of hours on the bike now and I’m happy with how things have developed. To be honest, the machine was a great package when it arrived and now I have it set up to my specification I’m heading into the SSDT confident I can take the win.”

Covering nearly 100 miles and 30 sections each day, the event is a real test of endurance, both for the modern trials bike (which is designed for far more compact courses) and the riders.

This is much due to the unique nature of the Scottish terrain and sections that remain the real lure of this great competition. For many of the 275 riders on the start list, their sole aim will be to make it to the finish on day six.

Over the last century, many thousands of riders have made the famous pilgrimage to the enthralling and unmatched landscape that surrounds Fort William, but only the select few have the honour of having had their name etched on the famous winners’ trophy.

Marking its centenary, the 2011 Scottish Six Days Trial will take place in and and around Fort William in the ‘Outdoor Capital of the UK’ between Monday 2 and Saturday 7 May.

Check out for event updates and details of the best places to watch the Trials action.


Media contact:

Paddy Cuthbert – Podge Publicity – M: 07968 699636 / E:

Notes to editors:

Funders, Sponsors and Supporters

Event Scotland –

Highland Council –

Putoline Oil –

Lift Control –

Birkett MotoSport Ltd –

John Lee Motorcycles –

Off Road Moto –

Thistle Access –

Highland Leisure Sport –

Talon Engineering –

Oximoto –


The event actually originated as a five-day reliability trial back in July 1909, before being extended to a six-day competition a year later. However, the start of the Scottish Six Days Trial (SSDT) proper as organised by the then newly formed Edinburgh and District Motor Club began in 1911.

In those early years, the trial started and finished in Edinburgh with the route taking the riders to John O’Groats and back over the course of the week.

Fort William was introduced as the hub for the event in 1938, although the start and finish remained in Edinburgh, which continued to be the case until all links with the Scottish city were cut in 1977.

Today, the SSDT consists of six different daily routes that total approximately 500 miles, which begin and end in Fort William each day.

The Edinburgh and District Motor Club will once again be at the helm of this fantastic competition and will be responsible for upholding an event where club riders and the world’s best compete together over the same course that will include 30 boulder-strewn sections on each of the six days.

For more information on The Scottish Six Days Trial go to:

Previous winners of the Scottish Six Days – 1972-2010

2010 – Alexz Wigg – Beta  2009 – Dougie Lampkin – Beta  2008 – Dougie Lampkin – Beta  2007 – James Dabill – Montesa  2006 – Graham Jarvis – Sherco  2005 – Sam Connor – Sherco  2004 – Graham Jarvis – Sherco  2003 – Joan Pons – Sherco  2002 – Amos Bilbao- Montesa  2001- Cancelled – Foot + Mouth  2000 – Steve Colley – Gas Gas  1999 – Graham Jarvis – Bultaco  1998 – Graham Jarvis – Scorpa  1997 – Steve Colley – Gas Gas  1996 – Dougie Lampkin – Beta  1995 – Dougie Lampkin – Beta  1994 – Dougie Lampkin – Beta  1993 – Steve Colley – Beta  1992 – Steve Colley – Beta  1991 – Steve Saunders – Beta  1990 – Steve Saunders – Beta  1989 – Steve Saunders – Fantic  1988 – Steve Saunders – Fantic  1987 – Jordi Tarres – Beta  1986 – Thierry Michaud – Fantic  1985 – Thierry Michaud – Fantic   1984 – Thierry Michaud – Fantic  1983 – Toni Gorgot – Montesa  1982 – Bernie Schreiber – SWM  1981 – Gilles Burgat – SWM  1980 – Yrjo Vesterinen – Montesa  1979 – Malcolm Rathmell – Montesa  1978 – Martin Lampkin – Bultaco  1977 – Martin Lampkin – Bultac  1976 – Martin Lampkin – Bultac  1975 – Mick Andrews – Yamaha  1974 – Mick Andrews – Yamah  1973 – Malcolm Rathmell – Bultac  1972 – Mick Andrews – Ossa

MEDIA RELEASE issued by Podge Publicity. You too can post media releases (aka press releases) on For more information, email here.

Contact: Paddy Cuthbert
Phone: 07968 699636