Media Release: Once is not enough for 2010 Scottish Six Days winner


THE Scottish Six Days Trial (SSDT) brings a flood of emotions to every rider involved – you only have to look at the tortured faces of the finishers on the final day to see how much the iconic event means to them.

For last year’s winner, Alexz Wigg, the centenary SSDT that will take place in and around Fort William from Monday 2nd to Saturday 7th May, marks a particularly special occasion as he once again attempts to recreate his magical win from 2010.

“It is hard to put in to words how much the SSDT means to me if I’m honest – in my mind it’s the single most important event of the year and certainly my favourite.

“Winning last year was a dream come true. Lots has changed since then with many of the top riders changing manufacturers, including myself,” explained the current trophy holder.

2011 sees Alexz move under the Sherco awning and he will take advantage of having multi SSDT winner, Malcolm Rathmell, as his manager come mentor this time around.

As the 2011 edition of the SSDT marks the centenary of the event, each rider will feel increased pressure to produce a memorable performance, but with Alexz he also has the added weight of looking to repeat last year’s victory bearing on his young shoulders.

“I definitely feel under pressure to perform well at this years event with it being the 100th anniversary and as I won last year.

“I’m obviously aware people will be expecting a lot from me, but I’m confident I can fight for the win. No one puts more pressure on me than myself and I know what I’m capable of when I put my mind to it.

“When it comes to the SSDT there are a handful of riders in the UK who are capable of taking the win and we’ve all changed manufacturers this year so I guess we’re on a pretty even playing field,” said 21 year-old Alexz.

With the first three rounds of the domestic championship out of the way Alexz has spent the last few weeks training towards the SSDT, making sure his fitness and endurance are 100 per cent before the event.

“The SSDT is only a few days away now and we are making our final checks to the machine. I’ve spent plenty of time on my Sherco over the last few weeks and I’m feeling good.

“My fitness is at an all time high and I’ve not felt so comfortable on a bike for a long time. Getting a good first day at the SSDT is critical as one small mistake can ruin your chances for the rest of the week.

“Providing I have a little luck, I know I’m in a really strong position to fight for the win and I can’t wait to get going – I love this event,” concluded Alexz.

Marking its centenary, the 2011 Scottish Six Days Trial will take place in and and around Fort William between Monday 2nd and Saturday 7th May – for more details please visit


Media contact:
Paddy Cuthbert – Podge Publicity – M: 07968 699636 / E:

Notes to Editors:

Funders, sponsors and supporters
Event Scotland –
Highland Council –

Putoline Oil –
Lift Control –
Birkett MotoSport Ltd –
John Lee Motorcycles –
Off Road Moto –
Thistle Access –
Highland Leisure Sport –
Talon Engineering –
Oximoto –

Motorcycle trials

The sport of motorcycle trials is a test of riding skill over observed sections where the winner is determined by skill alone. When competitors ride each of the 30 testing sections every day their feet must remain on the footrests of the bike. They must negotiate steep gullies, slippery rock steps, rocky streams and boulder-strewn gorges. Sections vary in length and severity, and riders are penalised if they put their feet down to help them ride the section, and more so if they fail to negotiate the section in its entirety.

The Scottish Six Days Trial has the additional test of reliability over long distances, with riders completing up to 100 miles each day over a combination of rough moorland, rocky tracks and public roads; designed to challenge the ability, experience, strength and stamina of each rider and the reliability of the bike. There is also a set time within which each day’s route must be completed.

100 years of the Scottish Six Days Trial

The event actually originated as a five-day reliability trial back in July 1909, before being extended to a six-day competition a year later.

However, the start of the Scottish Six Days Trial (SSDT) proper as organised by the then newly formed Edinburgh and District Motor Club began in 1911.

In those early years, the trial started and finished in Edinburgh with the route taking the riders to John O’Groats and back over the course of the week. Fort William was introduced as the hub for the event in 1938, although the start and finish remained in Edinburgh, which continued to be the case until all links with the Scottish city were cut in 1977. Today, the SSDT consists of six different daily routes that total approximately 500 miles, which begin and end in Fort William each day.

The Edinburgh and District Motor Club will once again be at the helm of this fantastic competition and will be responsible for upholding an event where club riders and the World’s best compete together over the same course that will include 30 boulder-strewn sections on each of the six days.

For more information on The Scottish Six Days Trial go to:

Previous winners of the Scottish Six Days – 1972-2010

2010 – Alexz Wigg – Beta  2009 – Dougie Lampkin – Beta  2008 – Dougie Lampkin – Beta  2007 – James Dabill – Montesa  2006 – Graham Jarvis – Sherco  2005 – Sam Connor – Sherco  2004 – Graham Jarvis – Sherco  2003 – Joan Pons – Sherco  2002 – Amos Bilbao- Montesa  2001- Cancelled – Foot + Mouth  2000 – Steve Colley – Gas Gas  1999 – Graham Jarvis – Bultaco  1998 – Graham Jarvis – Scorpa  1997 – Steve Colley – Gas Gas  1996 – Dougie Lampkin – Beta  1995 – Dougie Lampkin – Beta  1994 – Dougie Lampkin – Beta  1993 – Steve Colley – Beta  1992 – Steve Colley – Beta  1991 – Steve Saunders – Beta  1990 – Steve Saunders – Beta  1989 – Steve Saunders – Fantic  1988 – Steve Saunders – Fantic  1987 – Jordi Tarres – Beta  1986 – Thierry Michaud – Fantic  1985 – Thierry Michaud – Fantic   1984 – Thierry Michaud – Fantic  1983 – Toni Gorgot – Montesa  1982 – Bernie Schreiber – SWM  1981 – Gilles Burgat – SWM  1980 – Yrjo Vesterinen – Montesa  1979 – Malcolm Rathmell – Montesa  1978 – Martin Lampkin – Bultaco  1977 – Martin Lampkin – Bultac  1976 – Martin Lampkin – Bultac  1975 – Mick Andrews – Yamaha  1974 – Mick Andrews – Yamah  1973 – Malcolm Rathmell – Bultac  1972 – Mick Andrews – Ossa

MEDIA RELEASE posted by Podge Publicity. You too can post media releases (aka press releases) on For more information, email here.

Contact: Paddy Cuthbert
Phone: 07968 699636