Media Release: Heriot-Watt University programming challenge winners announced

THE winners of the 2006 Heriot-Watt University Programming Challenge,
set by the School of Mathematics and Computer Sciences, have been
announced at a presentation at the university’s Edinburgh campus.

John Pirie (17) and Chris Thomson (16) from Old Machar Academy, Aberdeen
won the group prize, whilst Robert Sim (17) of Keith Grammar won the
individual prize, Matthew Failes (16) of Bell Baxter High School, Cupar
was the individual runner-up.

The winners, all studying Higher or Advanced Higher Computing, were
selected from entries from 24 schools throughout Scotland to the
competition which was launched last summer.

Designed by Professor Ruth
Aylett, the challenge entitled ‘Hogmanay Holiday Hurricane Horror’ set
the task of creating software to plan the movement of search and rescue
robots deployed to rescue stranded revellers in Edinburgh.

University Principal and Vice-Chancellor, Professor Anton Muscatelli
presented the prizes and congratulated all winners: “The standard of
entries to this competition has been exceptional and I would like to
congratulate all the winners as well as everyone who participated. My
thanks also go to colleagues in the School for setting such a demanding

Each of the winners remarked on what an interesting and positive
experience the competition had been.

The prizes awarded included an I-pod and laptop computer. Details of the
2007 competition will be announced soon.


MEDIA RELEASE issued by Heriot-Watt University. You too can post your media releases on allmediascotland; for more information, email here.

Contact: Caroline Dempster
Phone: 0131 451 8099