Media Release: Trad Music Awards 2006 – shortlist announced

AS part of the celebrations for Highland 2007, the year Scotland celebrates Highland culture, the fourth Trad Music Awards will be held at the Nevis Centre in Fort William from 1st-3rd December 2006.

This popular ceremony will take place on evening of Saturday 2nd December and be hosted by Mary Ann Kennedy and Stuart Cassells.

YOU too can post a media release on For more information, email here.

The Awards will this year, for the first time, include other events throughout the weekend as well as the ceremony on Saturday night. These include a live recording of Robbie Shepherd’s Take The Floor and a live broadcast of Reel Session for BBC Radio Scotland. During the day on Saturday 2nd December there will be a series of workshops and sessions. There will also be a Trad Music Awards Club at the Alexandria Hotel.

The winners of the Trad Music Awards are voted for by the public rather than a ‘selection committee’. Voting on the shortlist will run from 1st –24th November. Postal voting forms are available from PO Box 8774, Biggar ML12 6WZ or downloadable from and online voting in conjunction with BBC Scotland’s Celtic Roots website (

There will be live performances from Peatbog Faeries, Julie Fowlis, Gordon Duncan Tribute (with Stuart Cassells), Shona Mooney Band, Gordon Shand Dance Band, Ceol Mor, Lori Watson 3, Feis Lochaber, TMSA 40th Celebrations and Jim Reid.

Director of the Trad Music Awards, Simon Thoumire says “It’s great to see the Scottish trad music scene in such a great state with loads of young performers coming through. Nearly all the acts shortlisted have spent much of the past year touring extensively – in Scotland as well as the rest of the UK and for many all around the world as well. Live performance is the life blood of trad music and it’s great to see that it is as popular as ever”.

As well as the Hamish Henderson Award for Services to Traditional Music there will be eight performers inducted into the Hall of Fame, including Jeannie Robertson and Jimmy Shand post-humously. This year will see a new award – The Strathspey & Reel Society of the Year.

Tickets, priced

Contact: Fiona Duff/Natalie Biggs
Phone: 0131 558 1199