Media Release: Butler vs Boyle vs Burns in Scot of the Year shortlist

THE shortlist for Scot of the Year 2009 has been unveiled as the competition enters its final week of voting before the winner is announced to mark Burn’s Day.

Susan Boyle, Gerard Butler and Robert Burns are currently leading the race.

Gordon Brown and Michael Martin have been dropped from the running after receiving fewest votes, along with Mohammed Al Fayed, who was given an honorary nomination after declaring his intention to be the leader of an Independent Scotland.

Last year’s winner, Chris Hoy, and Poet Laureate, Carol Ann Duffy, have also been dropped from the shortlist.

Anyone can place their vote until 12pm on Saturday at, results will be announced to mark Burn’s Day on January 25th.

ScotsCare is a London-based charity providing financial assistance to first and second-generation Scots living in poverty. The charity runs an annual search for Scot of the Year which include first and second-generation Scots and some honorary nominees.


For further information, contact Elaine Begley on 07801 515585.

PRESS RELEASE issued by ScotsCare. You too can post your story ideas for journalists (aka Press or media releases), on Email for more information.

Contact: Elaine Begley
Phone: 020 7240 3718