Media Release: Newspaper of the Year award goes to Orkney Today

ORKNEY Today has been chosen as the Newspaper of the Year by the Highland and Islands Media Awards’ judging panel.

Editor, Catherine Turnbull, will receive a cheque for £500, to be donated to a charity of the newspaper’s choice, at the Highland and Islands Press Ball being held at the Newton Hotel, Nairn on Friday 5 February.

The newspaper caught the eye of the judges with its good lay out and all round coverage of news, features and sports.

Community Newspaper of the Year is the Am Paipear, Benbecula. The paper will receive a cheque for £300, £100 of which will go to local charity.

The West Highland Free Press recorded three successes.

Willie Urquhart is Photographer of the Year, Keith Mackenzie is Sportswriter of the Year, and Alasdair Campbell is highly commended in the Gaelic category.

Louise Lee, of The Oban Times, is the winner of the Jim Love Memorial Trophy for being Reporter of the Year.  Runner-up is Donald Wilson, Highland News.

The Dunoon Observer has appeared on the list of winners for the first time with Aileen MacNicol being chosen as the Feature Writer of the Year. Highly commended is Lorraine Shearer of The Orcadian.

Moray Firth Radio’s Fiona Miller is Young Journalist of the Year, winning the Alex Main Trophy. Jenny Morrison, Inverness Courier,  is highly commended.

Andy Dixon of the Inverness Courier is Local Newspaper Reporter of the Year. Highly commended is Gavin Musgrove, editor of the Strathspey and Badenoch Herald.

Scottish Provincial Press photographer Gary Anthony is Local Photographer of the Year. Eric Cormack, Northern Scot, is highly commended.

The BBC recorded two successes. Andreas Wolff presented the best entry in Gaelic and best use of journalism on the web went to Steven Mckenzie.

Writing for the Stornoway Gazette, Eric Mackinnon is highly commended in the Sportswriter of the Year category and Trevor Martin, Inverness, is highly commended in Photographer of the Year category.

The awards attract prize money of £2,300. The main sponsors are Diageo, the world’s premier drinks company.  The UHI Millennium Institute sponsors the prize for the Community Newspaper of the Year Award and Bord na Gaidhlig, the Gaelic award.

The Journalist of the Year will be announced at the Press Ball.

The full list of winners is:

Bord Na Gaidhlig Award for best Gaelic entry:
Winner:  Andreas Wolff, BBC Alba
Highly Commended:  Alasdair Campbell, West Highland Free Press

Best Use of Journalism on the Web:
Winner:  Steven Mckenzie, BBC

Local Newspaper Photographer of the Year:
Winner: Gary Anthony, Scottish Provisional Press Highly Commended: Eric Cormack, Northern Scot

Photographer of the Year:
Winner: Willie Urquhart, West Highland Free Press Highly Commended: Trevor Martin, freelance, Inverness

Young Journalist of the Year and the Alex Main Trophy
Winner:  Fiona Miller, Moray Firth Radio Highly Commended:  Jenny Morrison, Inverness Courier

Sportswriter of the Year:
Winner: Keith Mackenzie, West Highland Free Press
Highly Commended: Eric Mackinnon, Stornoway Gazette

Local Reporter of the Year:
Winner:  Andy Dixon, Inverness Courier
Highly Commended: Gavin Musgrove, Strathspey and Badenoch Herald

Reporter of the Year and the Jim Love Memorial Trophy:
Winner:  Louise Lee, ObanTimes
Highly Commended: Donald Wilson, Highland News

Feature Writer of the Year:
Winner:  Aileen MacNicol, Dunoon Observer Highly Commended:  Lorraine Shearer, Orcadian

UHI Millennium Institute Community Newspaper of the Year:
Am Paipear, Benbecula

Newspaper of the Year:
Orkney Today

Journalist of the Year:
To be announced at the Press Ball on Friday 5 February 2010.

MEDIA RELEASE posted by Highlands and Islands Enterprise. You too can post media releases (aka press releases) on For more information, email here.

Contact: Caroline Rham
Phone: 01349 868932
Website: http://www.