Media Release: Scottish Six Days Trial – results, day five – James Dabill remains out in front

AFTER a tough fifth day of the 2011 Scottish Six Days Trial (SSDT) James Dabill – Beta remains ahead of his nearest rivals following a confident performance that saw him drop only two marks in the 30 observed sections, which were spread around today’s 79-mile peninsula based route.

Dabill, who is the reigning British Trials champion and is currently undefeated in this year’s domestic series, holds a four mark advantage over Alexz Wigg – Sherco going into the final day.

Wigg, who himself was victorious at last year’s SSDT, matched Dabill mark for mark today as he too parted with two dabs during his penultimate excursion in the Scottish Highlands.

Twenty-one year-old Wigg, from Aylesbury in Oxfordshire, started the week slowly by losing seven marks on the first day, which put him down in twelfth place, but has gradually ridden his way into contention as he looks for a second win in a row.

After 150 sections, Michael Brown – Gas Gas is on one mark more than Graham Jarvis – Montesa who dropped seven marks on day five, but was struck down by bike problems within sight of the parc ferme.

Jarvis will need to use the 30 minutes working time tomorrow morning in an attempt to bring the four-stroke machine back to life.

Whilst Jarvis’s woes were late on, Dougie Lampkin – Gas Gas endured problems all day long as he battled on with a badly injured left ankle.

The five-times former winner will not contest the final day in order to prevent further damage to his swollen joint.

Brown, who led the trial during the early part of the week, has at least kept his hopes alive with a solid showing during his early day when going out first on the course was ultra tough.

His five mark ride today puts him two behind Wigg and six off Dabill going into the deciding encounter tomorrow. Brown’s daily total was made up of five single dabs as he tried to keep himself out of trouble in the slippery conditions.

On what was the toughest day of the week so far, scores were much higher than the other days with some of the top ten riders losing as many marks in one day as they had done to date.

Scotland’s lone hope of a home win disappeared as Gary MacDonald dropped 18 marks including one on time today, which sees him slip to sixth position.

It was a similar story for Ben Hemingway – Beta, Ian Austermuhle – Beta and James Lampkin – Beta who tumbled down the order as they too failed to shine on day five.

Today also proved to be decisive in terms of the sub-plot, for the supporting class awards. Emma Bristow – Ossa maintained a healthy advantage over Rebekah Cook – Sherco as the leading lady, whilst Alfredo Gomez – Montesa got one hand on the newcomers trophy as Jack Sheppard’s – Beta challenge was derailed.

Spain’s popular rider Amos Bilbao – Montesa now looks to have the over 40 award in his grasp as John Shirt – Gas Gas endured not a great day.

So once again it appears that the SSDT winner will be decided on Ben Nevis on the final day, and by early tomorrow afternoon the identity of the centenary victor will be apparent and history will have been made.

Marking its centenary, the 2011 Scottish Six Days Trial will take place throughout Lochaber, in the north west Highlands between Monday 2nd and Saturday 7th May – for more details please visit


Media contact:

Paddy Cuthbert – Podge Publicity – M: 07968 699636 / E:

SSDT image service

High-resolution images and results from each day of the event can be found on our ftp server – details as listed below – these will be uploaded on a daily basis.

User: anonymous
Password: (not required)
Folder: SSDT

Notes to editors:

Funders, sponsors and supporters

Event Scotland –
Highland Council –

Putoline Oil –
Lift Control –
Birkett MotoSport Ltd –
John Lee Motorcycles –
Off Road Moto –
Thistle Access –
Highland Leisure Sport –
Talon Engineering –
Oximoto –

Motorcycle trials

The sport of motorcycle trials is a test of riding skill over observed sections where the winner is determined by skill alone. When competitors ride each of the 30 testing sections every day their feet must remain on the footrests of the bike. They must negotiate steep gullies, slippery rock steps, rocky streams and boulder-strewn gorges. Sections vary in length and severity, and riders are penalised if they put their feet down to help them ride the section, and more so if they fail to negotiate the section in its entirety.

The Scottish Six Days Trial has the additional test of reliability over long distances, with riders completing up to 100 miles each day over a combination of rough moorland, rocky tracks and public roads; designed to challenge the ability, experience, strength and stamina of each rider and the reliability of the bike. There is also a set time within which each day’s route must be completed.


The event actually originated as a five-day reliability trial back in July 1909, before being extended to a six-day competition a year later. However, the start of the Scottish Six Days Trial (SSDT) proper as organised by the then newly-formed Edinburgh and District Motor Club began in 1911.

In those early years, the trial started and finished in Edinburgh with the route taking the riders to John O’Groats and back over the course of the week.

Fort William was introduced as the hub for the event in 1938, although the start and finish remained in Edinburgh, which continued to be the case until all links with the Scottish city were cut in 1977.

Today, the SSDT consists of six different daily routes that total approximately 500 miles, which begin and end in Fort William each day.

The Edinburgh and District Motor Club will once again be at the helm of this fantastic competition and will be responsible for upholding an event where club riders and the world’s best compete together over the same course that will include 30 boulder-strewn sections on each of the six days.

For more information on The Scottish Six Days Trial go to:

Previous winners of the Scottish Six Days – 1972-2010

2010 – Alexz Wigg – Beta  2009 – Dougie Lampkin – Beta  2008 – Dougie Lampkin – Beta  2007 – James Dabill – Montesa  2006 – Graham Jarvis – Sherco  2005 – Sam Connor – Sherco  2004 – Graham Jarvis – Sherco  2003 – Joan Pons – Sherco  2002 – Amos Bilbao- Montesa  2001- Cancelled – Foot + Mouth  2000 – Steve Colley – Gas Gas  1999 – Graham Jarvis – Bultaco  1998 – Graham Jarvis – Scorpa  1997 – Steve Colley – Gas Gas  1996 – Dougie Lampkin – Beta  1995 – Dougie Lampkin – Beta  1994 – Dougie Lampkin – Beta  1993 – Steve Colley – Beta  1992 – Steve Colley – Beta  1991 – Steve Saunders – Beta  1990 – Steve Saunders – Beta  1989 – Steve Saunders – Fantic  1988 – Steve Saunders – Fantic  1987 – Jordi Tarres – Beta  1986 – Thierry Michaud – Fantic  1985 – Thierry Michaud – Fantic   1984 – Thierry Michaud – Fantic  1983 – Toni Gorgot – Montesa  1982 – Bernie Schreiber – SWM  1981 – Gilles Burgat – SWM  1980 – Yrjo Vesterinen – Montesa  1979 – Malcolm Rathmell – Montesa  1978 – Martin Lampkin – Bultaco  1977 – Martin Lampkin – Bultac  1976 – Martin Lampkin – Bultac  1975 – Mick Andrews – Yamaha  1974 – Mick Andrews – Yamah  1973 – Malcolm Rathmell – Bultac  1972 – Mick Andrews – Ossa.

MEDIA RELEASE posted by Podge Publicity. You too can post media releases (aka press releases) on For more information, email here.

Contact: Paddy Cuthbert
Phone: 07968699636