Media Awards: Scottish Magazine Awards, 2015

The Beano has been named Scottish Magazine of the Year.

The DC Thomson-published title beat off the challenge of five other hopefuls for the main prize at the Scottish Magazine Awards ceremony, run by the Professional Publishers Association (Scotland) and held last night in Edinburgh.

Across all category awards, a total of 160 entries were whittled down to a shortlist of 110.

The winners’ list reads, as follows:

Scottish Magazine of the Year

Winner: The Beano

Nominated: Fusion Flowers

Historic Scotland

Scottish Local Retailer



Backstage star

Winner: Jade Regulski – The List

Nominated: Carol Clarke-Ayre – Dumfries & Galloway Life, CN Group Magazines

Chris Kelly – The Scots Magazine, DC Thomson

Emma Wilson – Think

Shirley Derani – Herald & Times Group Magazines

Tony Smith – Connect Publications

Brand extension 

Winner: Story Writing Workshop – The People’s Friend, DC Thomson

Nominated: Metal Hammer: Roadkill – Metal Hammer, TeamRock

Scottish Dental Show – Scottish Dental Magazine, Connect Publications

Scottish Rural Awards – Scottish Field, Wyvex Media

Shout Hangout – Shout, DC Thomson

ThinkSmart Retail Convention – Scottish Local Retailer, 55 North

Business and professional magazine

Winner: Scottish Local Retailer – 55 North

Nominated: CA – Think

Fish Farmer Magazine – Wyvex Media

Holyrood – Dods plc

Journal of the Law Society of Scotland – Connect Publications

PMFA News – Pinpoint Scotland

The Scottish Farmer – Herald & Times Group Magazines

Business and professional magazine designer

Winner: Islay Brown – Shelf/Carpe Vinum/Reflect, White Light Media

Nominated: Aimee Wachtel – Holyrood, Dods plc

James Cargill – Journal of the Law Society of Scotland/Landlord Focus/Infinite, Connect Publications

Mark Davies – CA/Surgeons’ News, Think

Sarah MacNeil – BQ Scotland, Room 501 Publishing

Business and professional magazine editor

Winner: Peter Nicholson – Journal of the Law Society of Scotland, Connect Publications

Nominated: Alasdair Fletcher – The Scottish Farmer, Herald & Times Group Magazines

Kevin Scott – Scottish Local Retailer, 55 North

Mandy Rhodes – Holyrood, Dods plc

Robert Outram – CA, Think

Business and professional magazine feature writer

Winner: Henry Hepburn – Times Educational Supplement Scotland, TES Global

Nominated: Christina McPherson – Poppy/Reflect, White Light Media

Emma Seith – Times Educational Supplement Scotland, TES Global

Liam Kirkaldy – Holyrood, Dods plc

Ron Aitken – Invest Edinburgh, Resolve Creative

Consumer magazine

Winner: The Beano – DC Thomson

Nominated: Hot Rum Cow – White Light Media

My Weekly – DC Thomson

PosAbillity Magazine – 2A Publishing

The Big Issue – The Big Issue

The Scots Magazine – DC Thomson

WWE Kids – DC Thomson

Consumer magazine designer

Winner: Eric Campbell – Hot Rum Cow, White Light Media

Nominated: Graeme McEwing – WWE Kids/110% Gaming, DC Thomson

Mark Duncan – Scottish Field/Cask & Still/SF Edinburgh, Wyvex Media

Matthew Ball – The RPS Journal/Scotland In Trust/Escape, Think

Ryan Swinney – Trend Magazine, Trend Productions

Consumer magazine editor 

Winner: Yasmin Sulaiman – The List

Highly commended: Richard Bath – Scottish Field/Cask & Still/SF Edinburgh, Wyvex Media

Nominated: Andrea Thompson – Dumfries & Galloway Life, CN Group Magazines

Karen Peattie – High Flyer, Herald & Times Group Magazines

Robert Wight – The Scots Magazine, DC Thomson

Rosalind Tulloch – PosAbility/The OT Magazine, 2A Publishing

Simon Lyle – Hot Rum Cow, White Light Media

Consumer magazine feature writer

Winner: Adam Forrest – The Big Issue

Highly commended: Lucy Davies – The RPS Journal, Think

Nominated: Garry Fraser – The Scots Magazine, DC Thomson

James Campbell – The Big Issue

Kirsty Smyth – Scottish Field/SF Edinburgh, Wyvex Media

Peter Ross – Historic Scotland/Explorer/Scotland In Trust, Think

Customer magazine

Winner: Escape – Think

Nominated: Explorer – Think

Glasgow – Connect Publications

High Flyer – Herald & Times Group Magazines

In Depth – Connect Publications

Trust – Baillie Gifford & Co


Winner: TESS Subscriptions and Recruitment Advertising campaign – TES Global

Nominated: 110% Gaming launch – DC Thomson

Cask & Still launch – Wyvex Media

Learn launch – The Church of Scotland

Poppy launch – White Light Media

World Whisky Day – White Light Media

Internal or employee magazine

Winner: Treehouse – Connect Publications

Nominated: Heads Up – Connect Publications

SW Vision – Connect Publications

The Caledonian – Glasgow Caledonian University

Magazine cover

Winner: The Big Issue – The Big Issue

Nominated: Animals and You – DC Thomson

Cask & Still – Wyvex Media

Explorer – Think

Holyrood (NHS Hand Grenade cover) – Dods plc

The Scots Magazine – DC Thomson

Member magazine

Winner: Historic Scotland – Think

Nominated: Off The Run – Scottish Fire & Rescue

Scotland In Trust – Think

Scottish Mountaineer – Herald & Times Group Magazines

The RPS Journal – Think

Unfiltered – Connect Publications

Online presence

Winner: – The List

Nominated: Shout Facebook and Twitter presence – Shout, DC Thomson and Facebook presence – Fusion Flowers – The Big Issue – The Scots Magazine, DC Thomson – The Scottish Farmer, Herald & Times Group Magazines

Publishing team

Winner: Think Glasgow Team – Think

Nominated: Herald & Times Group Magazines Pre-Press Team – Herald & Times Group Magazines

Hot Rum Cow Team – White Light Media

Scottish Field Team – Wyvex Media

Sales performance

Winner: 110% Gaming – DC Thomson

Nominated: Connect Sales Team – Connect Publications

Gareth Whelan – WWE Kids, DC Thomson

Holyrood – Dods plc

The Beano – DC Thomson

Think Sales Team – Think

Small publishing company magazine

Winner: Fusion Flowers – Fusion Flowers

Nominated: EB Living – EB Living

Kinross Gazette – Notice Me Publications

Living Orkney – Orkney Media Group

Menopause Matters – Menopause Matters

The Word on the Streets – Raspberry Horse

The People’s Vote:

Winner: Scotland in Trust – Think

Nominated: Dumfries & Galloway Life – CN Group Magazines

Executive – Scottish Provincial Press

Historic Scotland – Think

Holyrood – Dods plc

Magazine Publishing Postgraduate Award (in association with Edinburgh Napier University)

Winner: Rhiannon Tate

Nominated: Rachel Cree

Eileen Malone

Seonaid Rafferty