Ten Scottish titles in running for local newspaper awards

TEN Scottish newspapers are among the 100-strong shortlist bidding to be recognised at this year’s Weekly Newspaper of the Year awards.

Run by the Newspaper Society, the awards have this year enjoyed a 37 per cent in the number of entries. The winners will be unveiled on the 29th of next month.

Of the 35 awards to be presented this year, there are a number of new categories including Newspaper Website of the Year and Sports Journalist of the Year.

The Scottish titles are Aberdeen Citizen, Aberdeen Independent, Allanwater News, Border Telegraph, Dumfries & Galloway Standard, East Kilbride Mail, Hawick News, Peeblesshire News, Southern Reporter and Wee County News.