Staff reorganisation at Herald ‘finalised’

STAFF reorganisation at the Herald group of newspapers – which, in December, told all but a handful of its 250 editorial employees they needed to apply for around 40 fewer posts – has been completed, according to senior management.

Says editor-in-chief, Donald Martin, in a memo to staff: “We are delighted to announce we have now finalised our group editorial restructuring plan and all outstanding contracts and job offers will be issued by early next week.”

In the same memo, he apologises for “the long period of uncertainty… as we worked our way through a complex and challenging consultation and budget process.”

And he thanked staff: “Your continued professionalism and support during this difficult time has been much appreciated,” he wrote.

He continues: “The main reason for the delay was management’s desire to avoid any compulsory redundancies in Multimedia, Production or Content and I am delighted to confirm we have achieved that primary objective. All individuals, except those who have already had their voluntary redundancies confirmed, will be offered roles within the new set-up.”

The new structure will be largely put in place this week with staff briefings being staged over the next few days to explain the changes.

The Herald departures are….

Ian Bruce – Defence Correspondent
Allan Laing – Assistant News Editor
Julia Horton – News Reporter
David Belcher – Specialist Reporter/Writer
Allan Donald – Chief Sub Editor
Philip Gates – Senior News Sub Editor
Graeme Smith – Reporter
Chris MacRae – Deputy Department Head
Thomas Noble – Department Head
Roy Petrie – Designer
Alan McCrorie – Sub Editor
Adrian Robertson – Deputy Department Head
Marianne Taylor – News Reporter
William Tinning – Reporter
Joanna Harvie – Night Editor
David Bennett – Sub Editor
Martin Greig – Senior Sports Reporter
Janice MacFarlane – Sub Editor
Stuart McKinlay – Deputy Department Head
Stan Sewell – Administrator
Alison Chiesa – News Reporter
Jill Ledgerwood – Sub Editor

The Sunday Herald ones….

Shaun McLaren – Magazines Designer
Nicholas Dastoor – Trainee Page Editor
John Henderson – Design Editor
Alan Campbell – Specialist Reporter/Writer
William Mackintosh – Head of News Desk
Peter Meiklem – Media Writer

And the Evening Times ones….

Alan Wilkinson – Sub Editor
Jonathan Paisley – Reporter
Andrew Muir – Team Leader
Logan Taylor – Sub Editor
Kenneth Seaton – Sub Editor

Plus the group’s digital operation….

Deborah Keeping – Multimedia Deputy Editor
Grace Gough – Multimedia/Photosales Assistant
Iain Pratt – Multimedia Producer
Simon Murphy – Senior Multimedia Photographer
John Young – Group Multi Media Editor