British press title for McDougall

A FORMER Scotsman and Daily Record journalist has won at the British Press Awards.

Dan McDougall – who freelances for, among others, The Observer and the News of the World – has taken the ‘Foreign reporter of the year’ title at the awards, which were held last night.

Last year, he was shortlisted for the title, and also was shortlisted for the UK Press Gazette’s Magazine Design and Journalism Awards and the Paul Foot campaigning journalism prize.

The full list of winners reads:

Young journalist of the year
Winner: Tom Harper, The Mail on Sunday
Highly-commended: Sam Jones, Financial Times

Cartoonist of the year
Winner: Matt Pritchett, Daily Telegraph

Critic of the year
Winner: Philip French, The Observer

Digital journalist of the year

Winner: Dave Hill, The Guardian

Interviewer of the year

Winner: Decca Aitkenhead, The Guardian
Highly-commended: Ginny Dougary, The Times

Showbiz reporter of the year
Winner: James Desborough, News of the World
Highly-commended: Richard White, The Sun

Sports photographer of the year

Winner: Dickie Pelham, The Sun
Highly-commended: Dylan Martinez, Reuters

Photographer of the year
Winner: Stefan Rousseau, PA Photos

Sports journalist of the year

Winner: Matthew Syed, The Times
Highly-commended: Ian Stafford, Mail on Sunday

Supplement of the year

Winner: You Magazine, The Mail on Sunday

Website of the year
Winner: The Guardian

Scoop of the year

Winner: “Ross & Brand”, Miles Goslett, The Mail on Sunday

Columnist of the year
Winner: Charlie Brooker, The Guardian

Specialist journalist of the year

Winner: Stephen Wright, Daily Mail
Highly commended: Sarah-Kate Templeton, The Sunday Times

Campaign of the year

Winner: ‘Family Courts’, Camilla Cavendish, The Times
Highly commended: ‘Right to Pay’, Sarah Kate Templeton, The Sunday Times

Feature writer of the year

Winner: Philip Jacobson, Freelance (The Sunday Times and The Mail on Sunday)
Highly-commended: Tanya Gold, Freelance (Daily Mail and The Guardian)

Business and finance journalist of the year
Winner: Stephen Foley, The Independent

The Cudlipp Award

Winner: Race war, Stephen Wright/Richard Pendlebury, Daily Mail
Highly-commended: ‘Save our streets’ campaign, News of the World

Political journalist of the year
Winner: Quentin Letts, Daily Mail

Foreign reporter of the year

Winner: Dan McDougall, Freelance (The Observer, News of the World and The Mail on Sunday’s Live Magazine)

Reporter of the year
Winner: Christopher Leake, Mail on Sunday
Highly commended: Andrew Alderson, The Sunday Telegraph
Highly commended: Jon Ungoed-Thomas, The Sunday Times

International journalist of the year
Mohammad Sadegh Kaboudvand, Iran

Journalist of the year
Gillian Tett, Financial Times

Newspaper of the year
The Times