Scots quartet receive regional press awards nomination

ABERDEEN newspapers, The Press and Journal and the Evening Express, are among just four Scottish entries to have reached the shortlist of this year’s Regional Press Awards.

While the Evening Express is in the running for ‘Front page of the year’, the P&J is nominated in two categories: ‘Supplement of the year’, for its ‘Your Life’, and also ‘Newspaper of the year (daily/Sunday)’ with a circulation of above 40,000.

In that same category is Glasgow’s Evening Times and the pair are battling it out with the Belfast Telegraph, the Hull Daily Mail and the Manchester Evening News.

And making up the Scottish quartet is Eric Mackinnon, of the West Lothian Courier, who has been shortlisted in the ‘Sports journalist of the year (weekly newspapers)’ category.

The awards are run by the Press Gazette, which has just announced it’s about to stop producing the hard copy of its magazine and also to stop reporting news on its website.

But the awards, say the owners, still go ahead.

Says Press Gazette editor, Dominic Ponsford: “It’s been an incredibly tough year for everyone working in the regional press. The work of all these awards finalists is a tribute to the gutsy determination and great story-telling which, more than anything else, will ensure that regional journalism has a great future.

“Without local newspaper journalists knocking on doors, attending meetings and poring over council minutes, so many stories, which go on to get picked up by national media outlets, would never see the light of day.”

The awards ceremony takes place on the eighth of next month.

The shortlist reads:

Multimedia journalist of the year

Nicola Dowling, Manchester Evening News

Gary Gratton, Belfast Telegraph

Joanna Hunter, Hull Daily Mail

Debbie Lockett, Worksop Guardian

Joseph Watts, Nottingham Evening Post

Katy Wood, Hull Daily Mail

Reporter of the year (weekly)

Gemma Collins, East London Advertiser

Julia Gregory, East London Advertiser

Victoria Huntley, East London Advertiser

Oliver Hulme, Wells Journal

Amy Parkes, Rotherham Advertiser

Peter Sherlock, Hackney Gazette

Peter Truman, Croydon Guardian

Reporter of the year (daily/Sunday)

Jon Austin, Basildon Echo

Phil Coleman, News & Star (Carlisle)

David Gordon, Belfast Telegraph

Neal Keeling, Manchester Evening News

Adam Lovell, Hull Daily Mail

Jeanette Oldham, Sunday Mercury

Columnist of the year

Nick Ahad, Yorkshire Post

Stacia Briggs, Norwich Evening News

Jeremy Clay, Leicester Mercury

Jayne Dawson, Yorkshire Evening Post

Colin Drury, Halifax Evening Courier

Hannah Dunleavy, Cambridge News

Erik Petersen, Nottingham Evening Post

Feature writer of the year (weekly)

Dan Carrier, Camden New Journal

Jessica Cunniffe, MK News

Roger Lytollis, The Cumberland News

Anne Pickles, Cumbrian Newspapers

Michael Upton, Rotherham Advertiser

Simon Wroe, Camden New Journal

Feature writer of the year (daily/Sunday)

Nick Ahad, Yorkshire Post

Jeremy Clay, Leicester Mercury

Jo Davison, The Star, Sheffield

Lee Marlow, Leicester Mercury

Rod McPhee, Yorkshire Evening Post

Alice Ryan, Cambridge News

Specialist reporter of the year

Stephen Breen, Sunday Life

Zena Hawley, Derby Evening Telegraph

Sophie Hazan, Yorkshire Evening Post

Claire McNeilly, Belfast Telegraph

Nadia Stone, Express & Echo, Exeter

Kathryn Torney, Belfast Telegraph

Business and finance journalist of the year

Peter Edwards, Yorkshire Post

Bernard Ginns, Yorkshire Post

Paul Hill, Eastern Daily Press

Robin Johnson, Derby Evening Telegraph

Ros Snowdon, Yorkshire Post

Sam Williams, Norwich Evening News

Greg Wright, Yorkshire Post

Sports journalist of the year (weekly)

Jonathan Clegg, East London Advertiser

Jon Colman, The Cumberland News

Simone Corgan, MK News

Amanda Little, The Cumberland News

Eric Mackinnon, West Lothian Courier

Paul Rickett, Rotherham Advertiser

Sports journalist of the year (daily/Sunday)

Jon Colman, News & Star

John Gibson, Evening Chronicle

Lee Marlow, Leicester Mercury

Tom Richmond, Yorkshire Post

James Smailes, Hull Daily Mail

Martin Smith, The Star, Sheffield

Young journalist of the year

Andrew Dagnell, Wales on Sunday

Katie Davies, The Ham & High

Delia Monk, Nottingham Evening Post

Anna Roberts, Reading Evening Post

Matthew Sandy, Leicester Mercury

Mark Tallentire, The Northern Echo

Designer of the year

Chris Beckett, South London Press

Ian Bond, Hull Daily Mail

Hannah Dunleavy, Cambridge News

Lisa Tobin, Courier Media Group

James Young, Chester Evening Leader

Campaign of the year

‘Derby bites back’, Derby Evening Telegraph

‘Donor Campaign Henry Scot-Simmonds’, Gloucestershire Echo

‘High Moor tip’, Oldham Evening Chronicle

‘Price Watch team’, Belfast Telegraph

‘Tower Hamlets local history library’, East London Advertiser

‘We Care’, Express & Echo, Exeter

Photographer of the year (weekly)

Magnus Andersson, South London Press

Tim Bradley, Rochdale Observer / Heywood Advertiser

Joe Greaves-Lord, East London Advertiser

Spencer Griffiths, East London Advertiser / Hackney Gazette

Hannah Jones, South London Press

Robert Logan, South London Press

Alistair Wilson, Aldershot Newsgroup

Photographer of the year (daily/Sunday)

Anthony Chappel-Ross, The Press, York

Frank Dwyer, The Press, York

Stuart Harrison, Swindon Advertiser

Simon Hulme, Yorkshire Post

Dan Matthams, Nottingham Evening Post

Leah McLaren, Derby Evening Telegraph

Sports photographer of the year (weekly)

Magnus Andersson, South London Press

John Fryer, South Manchester Reporter

Andy Handley, MK News

Christopher Whiteoak, Aldershot News

Sports photographer of the year (daily and Sunday)

Anthony Chappel-Ross, The Press, York

Mikal Ludlow, Gloucestershire Echo

Dan Matthams, Nottingham Evening Post

Leah McLaren, Derby Evening Telegraph

Dustin Michailovs, Nottingham Evening Post

Lucy Ray, Telegraph & Argus, Bradford

Supplement of the year

‘Champions’, Manchester Evening News

‘Culture’, The Journal

‘I Love Me’, Manchester Evening News

‘Your Life’, Press & Journal

‘The Guide’, Hull Daily Mail

‘The Match’, Hull Daily Mail

‘Weekend’, Gloucestershire Echo / Citizen

Magazine of the year

Beyond Leeds

Cambridgeshire Journal

Cornwall Today

EDP Norfolk Magazine

Image Magazine

The Derbyshire Magazine

Yorkshire Life

Front page of the year

Evening Express, Aberdeen

Express & Echo, Exeter

Hull Daily Mail

Manchester Evening News

The News, Portsmouth

South London Press

APOLOGIES: the rest of this entry is unavailable, most likely because of a corrupted database.