Shortlist unveiled by Scottish Student Journalism Awards

THE shortlist has been unveiled for an annual awards celebrating the best of student journalism at eight Scottish colleges and universities.

The Write Stuff Scottish Student Journalism Awards is open to anyone on a journalism course at HND, undergraduate or postgraduate level, and this year it attracted entries from Glasgow Caledonian University, Stirling University, Strathclyde University, University of the West of Scotland, Adam Smith College, Cardonald College Glasgow, Glasgow Metropolitan College and Edinburgh’s Telford College.

The winners will be revealed later this month. In the meantime, the shortlist reads:

College shortlists

Real Radio college news writing:

Iain Smith, Sighthill Demolition (Cardonald College Glasgow)

Victoria Irvine, Easter Bikers roar into action (CCG)

Victoria Irvine, Strike to hit Holyrood (CCG)

Lesley Quinn, Our Home Hits the Heights (CCG)

Nicola Hamilton, New call to honour brave polar sailor (CCG)

Graham Gallacher , Letdown (Glasgow Metropolitan)

Rosemary Lowne, £45m Lotto hoax (CCG)

Rosemary Lowne, 36 beer kegs dumped on graves (CCG)

Shaun Cumming, Running Blind (Edinburgh’s Telford)

Neil Henderson, Healthy eating pupils served up fast food by council (Adam Smith)

SQA college feature writing:

Iain Smith, Haiti Hell on earth (CCG)

Rosemary Lowne, Heroin prescription (CCG)

Amber Welsh, Skin camouflage (CCG)

Shaun Cumming, Return to sender (Edinburgh’s Telford)

David Selfe, A life less loathed (Adam Smith)

Kim Lockhart, Bodybuilding – it’s definitely a man’s world (Adam Smith)

Lesley Quinn, Stephenie Myer Vampires (CCG)

Victoria Irvine, You’ve gotta have faith (CCG)

Paul Berry, Billey, Bob Marley and me (Adam Smith)

Stephanie Beechey, The Cognitive Con (Metropolitan)

The Scottish Sun college entertainment writing:

Iain Smith, Connell and Florence – Glasgow double act (CCG)

Nicholas Mills, Jimmy Snuka interview (Metropolitan)

John Hislop, Leon still has the X factor (Telford)

Iain Smith, Shakespears Sister return (CCG)

Lesley Quinn, Hairy breakfast (CCG)

Rosemary Lowne, Beatbox (CCG)

Lesley Quinn, Dale domination (CCG)

Lesley Quinn, Mighty Quinn to rock Govan (CCG)

Victoria Irvine, Yeah, Ghost (CCG)

Victoria Irvine, You’ve gotta have faith (CCG)

The Write Stuff college sports writing:

Iain Smith, Steve Davis on world snooker (CCG)

Iain Smith, Andy McLaren coaches youngsters (CCG)

Derek Howie, Painkilling injections: a blessing or a curse? (Metropolitan)

John Hislop, Second cap for local hero Derek (Telford)

Rosemary Lowne, Going for gold (CCG)

Rosemary Lowne, Kenny Clark (CCG)

Nicola Hamilton, Double joy for muscle men (CCG)

Nicola Hamilton, Glasgow Wildcats (CCG)

Lesley Quinn, Dingwall celebration (CCG)

Stephen Coutts, Ikechi Anya: The one that got away (CCG)

University shortlists

NUJ university news writing award

Julia Correia – Body CCTV (Glasgow Caledonian University)

Erik Geddes – Cable backs Gordon (GCU)

Christine Lavelle – Scottish local champions (GCU)

Robert Moore – Bus bedlam in Paisley (University of the West of Scotland)

Robert Moore – Gangs threat (UWS)

Sheanne Mulholland – Pensioners in business (GCU)

Gillian Provan – Poppy ceremony tragedy (GCU)

Amir Rashid – Prostitution campaign (GCU)

Alan Robertson – Unwanted fire alarms (Strathclyde)

Alan Robertson – Ramshorn theatre closure (Strathclyde)

THE feature writing award

Clare Carswell – Kirsty Gilmour (GCU)

Paul John Coulter – Record-breaking cyclist (GCU)

Erik Geddes – Election count charges (GCU)

Louise-Anne Geddes – Michelle McManus (Strathclyde)

John-Paul Holden – Tamara Kennedy (GCU)

Christine Lavelle – University’s IT crowd (GCU)

Gemma Mackenzie – Hebriddean goose chase (GCU)

Karen Power – Greg Hemphill (Strathclyde)

Gillian Provan – Helensburgh’s beaches (GCU)

Lisa Stewart – Eddi Reader (Strathclyde)

Daily Record entertainment writing award

Julia Correia – Piping hot (GCU)

Steph Cosway – All Time Low (GCU)

Erik Geddes – John Condron (GCU)

Kevin Gilmartin – Caprica (GCU)

Jamie Kempton – I’m no’ a Billy, he’s a Tim (Strathclyde)

Amanda Matheson – Florence and the Machine (GCU)

Lesley McKeran – Cast in the perfect role (Strathclyde)

Sarah Mooney – Beverley Knight (Strathclyde)

Gillian Provan – Deal or no Deal (GCU)

Gillian Provan – Frankie Boyle (GCU)

The Scottish Daily Mail sports writing award

Cheri Burns – New gym launch (UWS)

Clare Carswell – Badminton champions (GCU)

Iain Clark – Ikechi Anya (Stirling)

Iain Clark – Frederic Kanoute (Stirling)

Erik Geddes – St Mirren (GCU)

Andrew Jenkins – Falkirk players in university team (Stirling)

Lesley McKeran – Rhona McLeod (Strathclyde)

Sheanne Mulholland – Partick 1971 (GCU)

Amir Rashid – Sir Alex Ferguson (GCU)

Kirsty Scott – Lee McKenzie (Strathclyde)