Binnie elected chair of CIPR Scotland

THE head of communications at Falkirk Council has been elected chair of the Scottish division of the Chartered Institute of Public Relations.

At the organisation’s annual general meeting last night, in Edinburgh, Caroline Binnie was chosen to succeed Emma Diamond, of Smarts communications agency. The new vice-chair is Louise Nicolson of Bread PR.

Diamond has chosen not to remain on the committee, which welcomed new members Christina Cran of Cran Communications, Cristina Dello Sterpaio of the Scottish Social Services Council, Nicki Sturzaker of The BIG Partnership, Ruth Macleod of Lothian and Borders Fire and Rescue Service, Grant Thoms of Scottish Renewables, freelancer Iain Fleming and Joe Walton of Real PR.

The secretary is Elaine McKean, of Fleishman Hillard, while the treasurer is Sarah O’Loughlin of Transport Scotland.

Existing committee members staying on are Stewart Argo of the City of Edinburgh Council, Neil Jones of Cairnstone Communications, Scott Douglas of Holyrood PR and Aislinn Lunt of NHS Lothian.