Robertson Named Scottish Student Journalist of the Year

The news editor at the University of Strathclyde's student newspaper has been named Journalist of the Year at the Scottish Student Press Awards run by The Herald newspaper.

Alan Robertson – an intern last year at – was earlier in the evening named News Writer of the Year, with the judges saying of his award as Student Journalist of the Year: “Now, this year’s awards have identified a number of truly talented writers. But the judges agreed one in particular stood out. The question we all ask ourselves in selecting the Student Journalist of the Year is: who would we consider employing to work at The Herald?

“There were several possibles this time around but the recipient of this year’s title stood out as an excellent writer with the potential to forge a successful career in the media.”

It was a good evening for the Strathclyde Telegraph. As well as Robertson’s two awards, the paper was chosen Student Newspaper of the Year. This is the 15th year of the awards, with Herald deputy editor, Magnus Llewellin the chair of the judging panel.

Among the other winners was Stephen Coutts, a student at the University of the West of Scotland, who set up his football website, The Dirty Tackle, two years ago. With a worldwide remit, comprising a multinational team or writers and with the occasional story being sold to national newspapers, The Dirty Tackle delivered for Coutts both the Best Sports Writer and the Best Use of Multimedia prizes.

From the all-Stevenson College shortlist in the Best Photographer of the Year category, Ivan Arlandis was to beat off the challenge of his fellow students.

Each of the category winners are entitled to an one-week internship at The Herald, with Robertson eligible for a four-week one.

The winners were as follows:

Best News Writer: Alan Robertson, Strathclyde Telegraph, University of Strathclyde

Best Features Writer: Melissa Steel, The Saint, University of St Andrews

Best Sports Writer; Stephen Coutts, The Dirty Tackle

Best Photographer: Ivan Arlandis, Stevenson College, Edinburgh

Best Magazine: eusci, University of Edinburgh

Best Newspaper: Strathclyde Telegraph, University of Strathclyde

Best College Publication: The Convergent, City of Glasgow College

Best Use of Multimedia:

Student Journalist of the Year: Alan Robertson, Strathclyde Telegraph, University of Strathclyde