Wilson highly commended at sports journalism awards

A FREELANCER with The Herald and the Sunday Herald has been highly commended in an awards celebrating the best of sports journalism.

Richard Wilson was nominated in the regional sports writer category at the British Sports Journalism Awards, which named The Times as the best newspaper.

But he was to lose out to Jon Colman of Cumbrian Newspapers.

The awards – held by the Sports Journalist’s Association – saw The Times win six prizes.

The full list of winners reads:

SJA/Laureus Sports Newspaper of the Year: The Times

SJA Sports Writer of the Year: Michael Atherton (The Times). Highly commended: Martin Samuel (Daily Mail) Paul Hayward (Guardian and Observer).

SJA Sports Photographer of the Year: Edward Whitaker (Racing Post).

Sports Broadcaster (decided by a vote of SJA members): 1. Mark Pougatch (BBC 5Live); 2. Jake Humphrey (BBC television F1 coverage); 3. Mike Atherton (Sky Sports cricket).

Sports Feature Writer: Matthew Syed (The Times). Highly commended: Owen Slot (The Times), Donald McRae (The Guardian).

Sports Interviewer: Donald McRae (The Guardian). Highly commended: Owen Slot (The Times), Martin Samuel (Daily Mail).

Sports Scoop: Leaked document exposes England Rugby World Cup shame (Mark Souster, The Times). Highly commended: Paul Kelso (Daily Telegraph) and Martyn Ziegler (Press Association).

Sports News Reporter: Paul Kelso (Telegraph). Highly commended: Rob Beasley (The Sun), Martyn Ziegler (Press Association).

Specialist Correspondent: Michael Atherton (The Times). Mark Souster (The Times), Henry Winter (Telegraph).

Sports Columnist: Oliver Holt (Daily Mirror). Highly commended: Patrick Collins (Mail on Sunday), Michael Atherton (The Times).

Young Sports Writer: Jonathan Liew (Telegraph). Highly commended: Alex Kay (Daily Mail), Laura Williamson (Daily Mail).

Regional Sports Writer: Jon Colman (Cumbrian Newspapers). High commended: Richard Wilson (freelance), Amanda Little (Cumbrian Newspapers).

SJA/BetVictor Sports Betting Writer: Ed Hawkins (The Times). Highly commended: Steve Palmer (Racing Post), Simon Milham (freelance).

Cartoonist: Nick Newman (freelance). Highly commended: Andy Davey (freelance), Kerber & Black (Sunday Mirror).

Internet Sports Writer: Nick Harris (Sportingintelligence.com). Highly commended: Ben Dirs (bbc.co.uk), Matthew Christie (boxingnews.co.uk).

Sports Picture: John Sibley (Action Images). Highly commended: Laurence Griffiths (Getty Images) and Andrew Cowie (Colorsport).

Sports News Picture: Mark Robinson (The Sun). Highly commended: Phil Noble (Reuters) and Mike Egerton (Press Association).

Sports Portfolio: Tom Jenkins (Guardian and Observer). Highly commended: Clive Mason (Getty Images) and Phil Noble (Reuters).

Specialist Portfolio: Edward Whitaker (Racing Post). Highly commended: Philip Brown (Reuters) and David Davies (Press Association).

David Welch Student Sports Writer: Michael Taylor (aged 23, Cambridge University). Highly commended: Oliver Fletcher (20, Yale), Amy Lofthouse (19, Manchester).

Radio Sports Programme (selected by a vote of SJA members): 1, Depression in Cricket (BBC Radio); 2, 5Live Sport (BBC Radio); 3, Fighting Talk (BBC 5Live).

Television Sports Programme (selected by a ballot of SJA members): 1, Test cricket (Sky Sports); 2, Open golf (BBC Sport); 3, The Truth About Drugs in Football (C4 Dispatches).

Doug Gardner Award for services to the SJA and sports journalism: John Samuel