Gina Davidson and The Sunday Post win top accolades at Scottish Press Awards

THE story of the cremated remains of babies being disposed of at Mortonhall Crematorium in Edinburgh, without the knowledge of their parents, has helped earn its reporter, Gina Davidson, the title, Journalist of the Year, at this year’s Scottish Press Awards. Taking the Newspaper of the Year accolade, meanwhile, was The Sunday Post.

Davidson – an associate editor at the Edinburgh Evening News – also took the Scoop of the Year title, with her paper earning the Team of the Year prize for the story, which has earned national prominence, raising question marks about the practice at other crematoria in Scotland.

Only two days ago, Public health minister, Michael Matheson, announced an independent commission to investigate the scandal.

Davidson is pictured (left) with Tim Blott, president of the awards’ organisers, the Scottish Newspaper Society.

Said the judges: “We were also impressed Gina Davidson’s work to break the Mortonhall ashes story and felt it worthy of recognition as an excellent example of investigative journalism in Scotland.”

The judges said of The Sunday Post being named Newspaper of the Year: “The standard of this year’s entries has been particularly high and, as judges, we’ve had to make some difficult decisions.

“However, we felt The Sunday Post, in particular, should be recognised for courageous decisions that have transformed one of Scotland’s best-loved and strongest brands, while maintaining its position in the Scottish media landscape.”

And coincidentally, the Lifetime Achievement Award went to Campbell Gunn, who has recently retired after 43 years at The Sunday Post, the last 14 as political editor.

The Sunday Post editor, Donald Martin, is standing, left, in the main picture, along with Gunn.

The special guest was Dame Elish Angiolini, former Lord Advocate of Scotland.

Pics: Lewis Houghton.

The winners’ list reads:

Sports Photographer of the Year

Winner: Ian MacNicol The Scotsman and Metro Scottish edition

Runner-up: Ian Rutherford The Scotsman Publications Ltd

Nominated: William Murray SNS Group

Nicky Ponty Herald & Times

Kenny Ramsay The Scottish Sun

News Photographer of the Year

Winner: Ian Rutherford The Scotsman

Runner-up: Roddy Scott The Scottish Sun

Nominated: Gordon Jack The Scotsman and Daily Record

Jeff Mitchell Getty Images

Gordon Terris The Herald

Cartoonist of the Year

Winner: Steven Camley The Herald

Runner-up: Brian Adcock Scotland on Sunday

Nominated: Scott Clissold Scottish Sunday Express

Pete Davidson The Sunday Post

Brian Petrie The Scottish Sun

Young Journalist of the Year

Winner: Niamh Anderson The Scottish Sun

Runner-up: Alasdair Gill Dundee Evening Telegraph

Nominated: Paul John Coulter Greenock Telegraph

Paris Gourtsoyannis Holyrood Magazine

Euan McLelland Daily Record

Weekly Newspaper of the Year

Winner: The Falkirk Herald

Runner-up: The Inverness Courier

Nominated: Ayrshire Post

Hamilton Advertiser

Highland News

Arts/Entertainment Journalist of the Year

Winner: Phil Miller The Herald

Runner-up: David Robinson The Scotsman

Nominated: Brian Beacom The Herald

Matt Bendoris The Scottish Sun

Alison Howard The Herald/Sunday Herald

Aidan Smith Scotland on Sunday

Magazine Writer of the Year

Winner: Billy Briggs The Herald Magazine

Runner-up: David Robinson The Scotsman

Nominated: Teddy Jamieson The Herald/Sunday Herald

Chitra Ramaswamy The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday

Peter Ross Scotland on Sunday

Alison Rowat The Herald

Political Journalist of the Year

Winner: Mark Aitken Sunday Mail

Runner-up: David Clegg Daily Record

Nominated: Paul Hutcheon Sunday Herald

Iain MacWhirter Sunday Herald

Alan Roden Scottish Daily Mail

Columnist of the Year

Winner: Bill Leckie The Scottish Sun

Runner-up: Ian Bell Sunday Herald

Nominated: Erikka Askeland The Scotsman

Tam Cowan Daily Record

Iain Macwhirter Sunday Herald

Financial/Business Journalist of the Year

Winner: Ian McConnell The Herald

Runner-up: Colin Donald Sunday Herald

Nominated: Simon Bain The Herald

Scott Mcculloch Business7

Tim Sharp The Herald

Newspaper Feature Writer of the Year

Winner: Dani Garavelli The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday

Runner-up: Peter Ross Scotland on Sunday

Nominated: Matt Bendoris The Scottish Sun

Helen Brown The Courier

Chitra Ramaswamy The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday

Sports Feature Writer of the Year

Winner: Aidan Smith The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday

Runner-up: Tom English The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday

Nominated: Michael Grant The Herald

Robert Grieve The Scottish Sun

Bill Leckie The Scottish Sun

Sports News Writer of the Year

Winner: Keith Jackson Daily Record

Runner-up: John McGarry Scottish Daily Mail

Nominated: Robert Grieve The Scottish Sun

Ronnie MacKay The Scottish Sun

Derek McGregor The Scottish Sun

Front Page of the Year

Winner: The Scottish Sun Day that the taxman finally buried Rangers

Runner-up: Evening Express Dear Barney

Nominated: Daily Record BYE BYE LIAR

Edinburgh Evening News REVENGE OF THE TRAMS


Sunday Herald The gold rush

Journalism Team of the Year

Winner: Edinburgh Evening News Mortonhall Ashes Scandal

Runner-up: The Scottish Sun Gers in Crisis

Nominated: Daily Record Rangers in Crisis

Edinburgh Evening News Edinburgh Royal Infirmary in Crisis

The Courier Drowning in Drugs Investigation

Campaign of the Year

Winner: Dumfries & Galloway Standard A75 – Time to Act

Runner-up: Evening Telegraph Dundee Born and Read

Nominated: Evening Times Clear the Air

The Scottish Sun Ban Beggs Blood Money

The Sunday Post Churchcastle

Scoop of the Year

Winner: Gina Davidson Edinburgh Evening News

Runner-up: Keith Jackson Daily Record

Nominated: Dani Garavelli Scotland on Sunday

Paul Hutcheon Sunday Herald

Allan Rennie/Chris Musson Daily Record

Reporter of the Year

Winner: David Pratt The Herald/Sunday Herald

Runner-up: Gail Cameron The Scottish Sun

Nominated: Ryan Crighton The Press and Journal

Charles Gall Daily Record

Marion Scott Sunday Mail