Media Awards: Scottish Press Awards, shortlist

THE shortlist for this year’s Scottish Press Awards has been announced.

The competition – now in its 36th year and run by the Scottish Newspaper Society – will unveil its winners at a ceremony on the 16th of next month, including the titles, Journalist of the Year and Newspaper of the Year.

The shortlist reads:

Sports Photographer of the Year

Stewart R Attwood Evening Times, The Herald, Sunday Herald
William Murray SNS Group
Nick Ponty Herald and Times
Jamie Simpson Herald & Evening Times
Sammy Turner SNS Group

News Photographer of the Year

Katielee Arrowsmith South West News Service (SWNS)
Michael Gillen The Falkirk Herald
Ross Johnston Newsline Media
Jeff Mitchell Getty Images
Robert Perry Daily Mirror, The Scotsman, The Times
Alan Simpson Scottish Daily Mail, Scottish Daily Express

Cartoonist of the Year

Frank Boyle The Sunday Post
Steven Camley The Herald
Peter Davidson The Sunday Post
Rob Murray The Press and Journal
Brian Petrie The Scottish Sun

Young Journalist of the Year

Bryan Copland Evening Telegraph
Darren Hamilton Evening Telegraph
William Lyon Evening Telegraph
Findlay Mair Centre Press Agency
Sarah Vesty Daily Record

Weekly Newspaper of the Year

The Falkirk Herald
Fife Free Press
Highland News
The Inverness Courier
Kilmarnock Standard
The Oban Times

Arts/Entertainment Journalist of the Year

Brian Beacom The Herald
Barry Didcock Sunday Herald
John Dingwall Daily Record
Sean Guthrie Herald and Times
Phil Miller The Herald/Sunday Herald
Alan Morrison Sunday Herald

Interviewer of the Year

Brian Beacom The Herald
Claire Black The Scotsman
Jennifer Hyland Daily Record
Patricia Kane Scottish Mail on Sunday
Peter Ross Scotland on Sunday

Political Journalist of the Year

Mark Aitken Sunday Mail
David Clegg Daily Record
Tom Gordon Sunday Herald
Andrew Picken The Sunday Post
Ben Riley-Smith The Daily Telegraph

Columnist of the Year

Ian Bell Sunday Herald
Gina Davidson Edinburgh Evening News
Chris Deerin Scottish Daily Mail
Dani Garavelli Scotland on Sunday
Graham Hunter Evening Express
Iain Macwhirter Sunday Herald
Kevin McKenna The Observer

Financial/Business Journalist of the Year

Erikka Askeland The Press and Journal
Greig Cameron The Herald
Alastair Dalton The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday
Colin Donald Sunday Herald
Ian McConnell The Herald

Feature Writer of the Year

Emma Cowing Scottish Daily Mail
David Pratt The Herald/Sunday Herald
Peter Ross Scotland on Sunday, The Big Issue
Chae Strathie The Sunday Post
Michael Tierney Scottish Daily Mail, Scotland on Sunday, The Guardian

Sports Feature Writer of the Year

Graeme Croser Scottish Mail on Sunday
Michael Grant The Herald
Hugh MacDonald The Herald
Aidan Smith The Scotsman
Susan Swarbrick The Herald/Sunday Herald

Sports News Writer of the Year

Andy Devlin The Scottish Sun
Robert Grieve The Scottish Sun
Mark Guidi The Sunday Post
Keith Jackson Daily Record
Ronnie MacKay The Scottish Sun
Gary Ralston Daily Record

Innovation of the Year

John Dingwall Daily Record
Martin Little The Press and Journal
James McIvor The Scottish Sun
Susan Smith Third Force News
Katrina Tweedie Scotland Now

Front Page of the Year

The Courier Make Your Mark
Daily Record THE VOW
Evening Times Bang after bang and then screams…
Scottish Daily Mail They came in their hundreds, men, women, children…
Sunday Herald sundayherald says YES
Sunday Mail IT’S TIME

Journalism Team of the Year

Daily Record Bin Lorry Tragedy
Edinburgh Evening News Mikaeel Kular
Evening Times Bin Lorry Crash
Greenock Telegraph Justice for Elaine
Scottish Daily Mail Commonwealth Games
Sunday Herald The Referendum

Campaign of the Year

The Courier Private Parking. To pay or not to pay?
Daily Record BEDROOM TAX
Evening Express Wild Dolphins
Evening Telegraph Make The Right Call
The Press and Journal Fair Deal On Energy Prices
Scottish Daily Mail ARMED POLICE

Scoop of the Year

Mark Aitken Sunday Mail CUP OF TEARS
Murray Foote Daily Record THE VOW
Darren Hamilton Evening Telegraph BEYOND BELIEF
Jim Lawson Freelance Queen in Scot Plea
Khaleda Rahman Scottish Daily Mail PRIVATE SCHOOL JIHADIST
Norman Silvester Sunday Mail GUNS ON THE STREET

Reporter of the Year

John Ferguson Daily Record
Paul Hutcheon Sunday Herald
David McKay The Press and Journal
Paul O’Hare Daily Record
Marion Scott Sunday Mail
Norman Silvester Sunday Mail
Sam Walker The Scottish Sun