Media Awards: British Sports Journalism Awards (print) 2015, shortlist

SCOTLAND-based Mark Woods has been named among the nominees in this year’s British Sports Journalism Awards.

The awards – run by the Sports Journalists’ Association – will see the winners announced on the 22nd of next month.

Woods has been shortlisted in the category, investigative sports reporter.

It was for work about basketball.

The shortlist reads, as follows:

Cricket journalist

Mike Atherton – The Times
Scyld Berry – The Telegraph
Lawrence Booth – Daily Mail
Nick Hoult – The Telegraph
Jonathan Liew – The Telegraph
Paul Newman – Daily Mail

Football journalist

Oliver Kay – The Times
Jonathan Northcroft – Sunday Times
Mark Ogden – The Independent
Rory Smith – The Times
Daniel Taylor – The Guardian
Jeremy Wilson –The Telegraph
Henry Winter – The Times

Investigative sports reporter

Owen Gibson – The Guardian
Nick Harris – Mail on Sunday
Ed Hawkins – Freelance
Jonathan Calvert, George Arbuthnot, David Collins, the Insight Team – Sunday Times
Jeremy Wilson – The Telegraph
Mark Woods – Freelance

Laureus sports website

Daily Mirror
Sky Sports
The Guardian
The Telegraph
The Times

Multi-media sports package

Racing UK – AP McCoy’s retirement
Sky Sports – The Ashes
The Guardian – Rugby World Cup
The Telegraph – Rugby World Cup

Regional journalist

Jon Colman – Cumbrian Newspapers
Mark Douglas – NCJ Media
Phil Hay – Yorkshire Evening Post
James Olley – Evening Standard
Chris Wathan – Media Wales
William Watt –The Gazette (Blackpool)

Rugby journalist

Duncan Bech – Press Association
Mick Cleary – The Telegraph
Alan Dymock – Rugby World
Stephen Jones – Sunday Times
Rob Kitson – The Guardian
Daniel Schofield – The Telegraph

Special sports edition

Bath Chronicle
Cambridge News
Daily Mirror
Rugby World
Sunday Times
The Telegraph

Specialist correspondent

Alastair Down – Racing Post
Martha Kelner – Mail on Sunday/Daily Mail
Derek Lawrenson – Daily Mail
Matt Majendie – The Independent
Lee Mottershead – Racing Post
Jeff Powell – Daily Mail

Specialist sports website

Boxing News
Racing UK
Sporting Intelligence

Sports columnist

Michael Calvin – Independent on Sunday
Matt Dickinson – The Times
Paul Hayward – The Telegraph
Hugh McIlvanney – Sunday Times
Brian Reade – Daily Mirror
Matthew Syed – The Times

Sports feature writer

Paul Hayward – The Telegraph
Ian Herbert – The Independent
Oliver Holt – Mail on Sunday
Martin Samuel – Daily Mail
Matthew Syed – The Times
David Walsh – Sunday Times

Sports news reporter

Neil Ashton – Daily Mail
Matt Lawton – Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday
Malcolm Moore – Financial Times
Ben Rumsby – The Telegraph
Charles Sale – Daily Mail
Martyn Ziegler – Press Association

Sports scoop

Sam Cunningham – Daily Mail
Jonathan Calvert, George Arbuthnot, David Collins, the Insight Team – Sunday Times
Alison Kervin – Mail on Sunday
Matt Law – The Telegraph
Charlie Wyett – The Sun
Martyn Ziegler – Press Association

Young sports writer

Teddy Cutler – Newsweek Europe
Jack Gaughan – Daily Mail/Mail Online
Daniel Johnson – The Telegraph
Alex Keble – Freelance
Alan Smith – The Guardian
Tim Wigmore – Freelance

Sports writer of the year

To be announced on the night

Sports newspaper of the year

To be announced on the night