Political commentator title goes to Nelson

A FORMER political editor of The Scotsman and now editor of political magazine, The Spectator, is among the winners in inaugural awards celebrating the best comment pieces in the media.

Fraser Nelson has taken the ‘Political commentator’ title in the Comment Awards run by media analysis and ‘opinion former network’, Editorial Intelligence.

The full list of winners reads:

Best comment pages: The Times
Commentariat of the year: Martin Wolf, Financial Times
Cultural commentator: Johann Hari, The Independent
Diary comment page: ‘Londoner’s Diary’, London Evening Standard
Best environment comment: Camilla Cavendish, The Times
Financial commentator: Alex Brummer, Daily Mail
Magazine commentator (including trade media and weeklies): Alex Brummer, New Statesman
Media commentator: Peter Preston, The Guardian and The Observer
Online commentator (independent blogger): Iain Dale, Iain Dale’s Diary
Online newspaper blog: FT Alphaville, Financial Times
Poison pen: Polemicist of the year: Richard Littlejohn, Daily Mail
Political commentator: Fraser Nelson, The Spectator and News of the World
Chairman’s choice award: Matthew Paris, The Times