The Herald named ‘Newspaper of the year’ at Scottish Press Awards

THANKS not least to the efforts of its reporter and Scottish Journalist of the Year, Lucy Adams, The Herald newspaper emerged as the Newspaper of the Year at this year’s Scottish Press Awards.

Now in their 31st year, the awards were also a triumph for Tom Brown, accorded the Lifetime Achievement award, for a career spanning DC Thomson, the Daily Express, BBC Scotland, the Daily Record – where he was political editor – and Scotland on Sunday, among others.

While Adams was described by judges as a person who really stands out and delivers great stories, the judges said of The Herald that it was trustworthy, strong from front to back and a very important observer of the Scottish scene.

It was a night also of celebration for Scotland on Sunday – which picked up four awards, including for Tom English, chosen as Sports Feature Writer of the Year for a fourth, consecutive year.

Also among the winners was the late Reg McKay. He died, aged 56, just ten days after filing his last column for the Daily Record.

Said the chair of the award organisers, The Scottish Newspaper Society, The Herald and Times Group’s editor-in-chief, Donald Martin: “The Scottish media landscape continues to change by the day but it’s encouraging to see such a consistently high calibre of entries to these awards. We have some fantastic talent here in Scotland, and I am delighted they are being given the recognition they truly deserve.”

The winners list reads:

Scoop of the year

Winner: Donna Watson – Daily Record – Honeymoon Scots Catch Swine Flu in Mexico

Runner-up: Victoria Raimes – Edinburgh Evening News – Pensioner Lies Dead in Flat for Five Years

Nominated: Lucy Adams – The Herald – Truth Never Dies

Jason Allardyce – Sunday Times Scotland – Revealed: Lockerbie Link to Oil

Keith Jackson – Daily Record – World Cup Chaos

Reporter of the year

Winner: Lucy Adams – The Herald

Runner-up: Lynn Davidson – The Daily Record

Nominated: Mark Richard Macaskill – Sunday Times Scotland

Marcello Mega – Scottish Mail on Sunday

Marion Scott – Sunday Mail

Financial/Business journalist of the year

Winner: Kenny Kemp – Sunday Herald

Runner-up: Steven Vass – Sunday Herald

Nominated: Lesley Campbell – Daily Record

Ian McConell – The Herald

Mark Williamson – The Herald

Newspaper feature writer of the year

Winner: Iain Macwhirter – Sunday Herald

Runner-up: Jonathan Brocklebank – Scottish Daily Mail

Nominated: Jasper Hamill – Sunday Herald

Matt Bendoris – The Scottish Sun

Peter Ross – Scotland on Sunday

Magazine writer of the year

Winner: Catherine Deveney – Scotland on Sunday

Runner-up: David Pratt – The Herald

Nominated: Billy Briggs – Freelance

Teddy Jamieson – The Herald

Peter Ross – Scotland on Sunday

Columnist of the year

Winner: Reg McKay – Daily Record

Runner-up: Ian Bell – Sunday Herald

Nominated: Tom English – Scotland on Sunday

Kenny Farquharson – Scotland on Sunday

Bill Leckie – The Scottish Sun

Campaign of the year

Winner: Greenock Telegraph – Knife Campaign Battle

Runner-up: Herald & Times Group – Ripped Off Glasgow

Nominated: Scottish Daily Mail – An Affront to British Justice

Sunday Mail – The Alarm Shark

The Scottish Sun – Grow a ‘Tash…Save a Life

Front page of the year

Winner: Scottish Daily Mail – For my Daddy – The Hero

Runner-up: Evening Express – 12.30am and the Last Victims of 85N Come Home

Nominated: Edinburgh Evening News – Poppycock

Scottish Mail on Sunday – Bomber in his Family’s Arms

The Falkirk Herald – Touch Ane Touch A’

Journalist team of the year

Winner: Evening Express – North Sea ‘Copter Tragedy

Runner-up: Edinburgh Evening News – Tram Wars

Nominated: Scottish Daily Mail – A Family Bullied into Gay Adoption

Scottish Daily Mail – Disgust at Deal to Free Bomber

Sunday Herald – Scotland’s Leaders:We Want Public Probe into Failed Banks

Weekly newspaper of the year

Winner: Dumfries and Galloway Standard

Runner-up: The Falkirk Herald

Nominated: Highland News

The Shetland Times

The Southern Reporter

Political journalist of the year

Winner: Jason Allardyce – Sunday Times Scotland

Runner-up: Paul Hutcheon – Sunday Herald

Nominated: Eddie Barnes – Scotsman Publications

Campbell Gunn – The Sunday Post

Andrew Nicoll – The Scottish Sun

Michael Tait – Scottish Mail on Sunday

Sports feature writer of the year

Winner: Tom English – Scotland on Sunday

Runner-up: Stephen McGowan – Scottish Daily Mail

Nominated: Richard Bath – Scotland on Sunday

Brian Cooney – Sunday Herald

Paul Forsyth – Scotland on Sunday

Bill Leckie – The Scottish Sun

Brian Marjoribanks – Scottish Daily Mail

Sports news writer of the year

Winner: Keith Jackson – Daily Record

Runner-up: Roger Hannah – The Scottish Sun

Nominated: Robert Grieve – The Scottish Sun

Peter Jardine – Scottish Daily Mail

Darrell King – Evening Times

Arts/Entertainment journalist of the year

Winner: Phil Miller – The Herald

Runner-up: Aidan Smith – Scotland on Sunday

Nominated: Claire Black – Scotsman Publications

Allan Brown – Sunday Times Scotland

Anna Burnside – Sunday Times Scotland

Paul English – Daily Record

Cartoonist of the year

Winner: Brian Adcock – Scotland on Sunday

Runner-up: Frank Boyle – Edinburgh Evening News

Nominated: Steven Camley – The Herald

Bill McArthur – The Herald

Brian Petrie – The Scottish Sun

Young journalist of the year

Winner: Victoria Raimes – Edinburgh Evening News

Runner-up: Alice Wyllie – The Scotsman

Nominated: Lisa Boyle – Ayrshire Post

Marc Deanie – The Scottish Sun

Julie Gilbert – Clydebank Post

News photographer of the year

Winner: Jane Barlow – The Scotsman

Runner-up: James Glossop – The Times

Nominated: Colin Mearns – Herald & Times Group

Andrew Milligan – Scottish Press Association

Alan Simpson – Freelance

Sports photographer of the year

Winner: Tom Main – Freelance

Runner-up: James Gunn – John O’Groat Journal

Nominated: Rob Casey – Daily Record

David Henderson – The Scottish Sun

Mark Runnacles – Daily Record

Multi-media journalist of the year

Winner: Nick Mitchell – The Scotsman/

Runner-up: John Dingwall – Daily Record

Nominated: Stephen Emerson – The Scotsman/

Magnus Gardham – Daily Record

Beverley Lyons – Daily Record

David Maddox – The Scotsman