Northern Scot a Winner at Regional Press Awards

The Elgin local newspaper, The Northern Scot, has been named among the winners in a competition celebrating the best of the regional press in the UK.

The paper took the Best Weekly Newspaper award for titles with a circulation below 20,000.

Earlier today, Lucy Adams, of The Herald, and Matthew Elder, of the Fife Free Press, were awarded highly commended prizes in, respectively, the Feature Writer and Weekly Sports Journalist categorries of the awards.

The Northern Scot title was named among four newspaper award winners, the othere being the Essex Chronicle, Cambridge News and the Belfast Telegraph.

And Editor of the Year went to Steve Hall, of the Derby Telegraph.

The Essex Chronicle took the award for Weekly Newspaper above 20,000 circulation for the second year running.

The award for Daily/Sunday Newspaper below 25,000 went to the Cambridge News and the award for Daily/Sunday Newspaper above 25,000 went to the Belfast Telegraph.

The winners from earlier today:

Young Journalist

Winner: Emily Koch – Bristol Evening Post

Highly Commended: Dominic Howell – Nottingham Post

Business & Finance

Winner: Catherine Lea – Hull Daily Mail

Highly Commended: Robin Johnson – Derby Telegraph

Jon Griffin – Birmingham Mail

Specialist Writer

Winner: Nicky Harley – Hull Daily Mail

Highly Commended: Paul Gallagher – Manchester Evening News

Jon Austin – Basildon Echo

Feature Writer

Winner: Adam Wakelin – Leicester Mercury

Highly Commended: Lucy Adams – The Herald, Glasgow


Winner: Elaine Morgan – Western Mail

Highly Commended: Ian Midgley – Hull Daily Mail

Weekly Sports Journalist

Winner: Danny Hall – Sheffield Star’s, ‘Grassroots’

Highly Commended: Matthew Elder – Fife Free Press

Daily/Sunday Sports Journalist

Winner: John Gibson – Newcastle Evening Chronicle

Highly Commended: Steven Beacom – Belfast Telegraph

Simon Walter – Southern Daily Echo

Weekly Photographer

Winner: Sean Hansford – Rochdale Observer

Highly Commended: Stephen Garnett – Craven Herald

Daily/Sunday Photographer

Winner: Rowland Hobson – Peterborough Evening Telegraph

Highly Commended: Gary Longbottom – Yorkshire Post

Anthony Chappel-Ross – The Press, York

Weekly Reporter

Winner: Gareth Davies – Croydon Advertiser

Highly Commended: Lui Straccia – Luton on Sunday

Daily/Sunday Reporter of the Year

Winner: John McGurk – Sunday Life

Highly Commended: Bimpe Archer – Irish News


Winner: Ian Bond – Hull Daily Mail

Highly Commended: Sean Collins – The Journal, Newcastle

The Digital Award

Winner: – Norwich Evening News

Highly Commended: Manchester Evening News

Supplement of the Year

Winner: Yorkshire Post Magazine

Highly Commended: Weekend – Belfast Telegraph

Special Supplement of the Year

Winner: The Blitz – Hull Daily Mail

Highly Commended: Welsh Warriors – Wales on Sunday

Front Page

Winner: Is This How You Feel? – Western Mail

Highly Commended: The Night Fire Took The Lives of My Four Babies – Derby Telegraph


Winner: Nicky Harley – Hull Daily Mail

Highly Commended: Jon Austin – Basildon Echo


Winner: An Industry Betrayed – Derby Telegraph

Highly Commended: Missing From Home – Manchester Evening News