Scottish Press Awards announces its shortlist

THE nominations for this year’s Scottish Press Awards have just been announced.

The awards – now in their 34th year – are being hosted in Glasgow, on the 18th of next month.

It is believed this year’s awards attracted a record number of entries.

The shortlist reads:

Sports Photographer of the Year

Ian MacNicol The Scotsman and Metro Scottish edition

William Murray SNS Group

Nicky Ponty Herald & Times

Kenny Ramsay The Scottish Sun

Ian Rutherford The Scotsman Publications Ltd

News Photographer of the Year

Gordon Jack The Scotsman and Daily Record

Jeff Mitchell Getty Images

Ian Rutherford The Scotsman

Roddy Scott The Scottish Sun

Gordon Terris The Herald

Cartoonist of the Year

Brian Adcock Scotland on Sunday

Steven Camley The Herald

Scott Clissold Scottish Sunday Express

Pete Davidson The Sunday Post

Brian Petrie The Scottish Sun

Young Journalist of the Year

Niamh Anderson The Scottish Sun

Paul John Coulter Greenock Telegraph

Alasdair Gill Dundee Evening Telegraph

Paris Gourtsoyannis Holyrood Magazine

Euan McLelland Daily Record

Weekly Newspaper of the Year

Ayrshire Post

The Falkirk Herald

Hamilton Advertiser

Highland News

The Inverness Courier

Arts/Entertainment Journalist of the Year

Brian Beacom The Herald

Matt Bendoris The Scottish Sun

Alison Howard The Herald/Sunday Herald

Phil Miller The Herald

David Robinson The Scotsman

Aidan Smith Scotland on Sunday

Magazine Writer of the Year

Billy Briggs The Herald Magazine

Teddy Jamieson The Herald/Sunday Herald

Chitra Ramaswamy The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday

David Robinson The Scotsman

Peter Ross Scotland on Sunday

Alison Rowat The Herald

Political Journalist of the Year

Mark Aitken Sunday Mail

David Clegg Daily Record

Paul Hutcheon Sunday Herald

Iain MacWhirter Sunday Herald

Alan Roden Scottish Daily Mail

Columnist of the Year

Erikka Askeland The Scotsman

Ian Bell Sunday Herald

Tam Cowan Daily Record

Bill Leckie The Scottish Sun

Iain Macwhirter Sunday Herald

Financial/Business Journalist of the Year

Simon Bain The Herald

Colin Donald Sunday Herald

Ian McConnell The Herald

Scott Mcculloch Business7

Tim Sharp The Herald

Newspaper Feature Writer of the Year

Matt Bendoris The Scottish Sun

Helen Brown The Courier

Dani Garavelli The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday

Chitra Ramaswamy The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday

Peter Ross Scotland on Sunday

Sports Feature Writer of the Year

Tom English The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday

Michael Grant The Herald

Robert Grieve The Scottish Sun

Bill Leckie The Scottish Sun

Aidan Smith The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday

Sports News Writer of the Year

Robert Grieve The Scottish Sun

Keith Jackson Daily Record

Ronnie MacKay The Scottish Sun

John McGarry Scottish Daily Mail

Derek McGregor The Scottish Sun

Front Page of the Year

Daily Record BYE BYE LIAR

Edinburgh Evening News REVENGE OF THE TRAMS

Evening Express Dear Barney


The Scottish Sun Day that the taxman finally buried Rangers

Sunday Herald The gold rush

Journalism Team of the Year

Daily Record Rangers in Crisis

Edinburgh Evening News Mortonhall Ashes Scandal

Edinburgh Evening News Edinburgh Royal Infirmary in Crisis

The Scottish Sun Gers in Crisis

The Courier Drowning in Drugs Investigation

Campaign of the Year

Dumfries & Galloway Standard A75 – Time to Act

Evening Telegraph Dundee Born and Read

Evening Times Clear the Air

The Scottish Sun Ban Beggs Blood Money

The Sunday Post Churchcastle

Scoop of the Year

Gina Davidson Edinburgh Evening News

Dani Garavelli Scotland on Sunday

Paul Hutcheon Sunday Herald

Keith Jackson Daily Record

Allan Rennie/Chris Musson Daily Record

Reporter of the Year

Gail Cameron The Scottish Sun

Ryan Crighton The Press and Journal

Charles Gall Daily Record

David Pratt The Herald/Sunday Herald

Marion Scott Sunday Mail

Journalist of the Year

To be announced at the awards on the night.

Newspaper of the Year

To be announced at the awards on the night.