Media Awards: National Federation of Retail Newsagents

TWO Scots newsagents have been crowned winners at the UK-wide annual awards of the National Federation of Retail Newsagents.

Named Independent Community Retailer of the Year was Shahid ‘Mo’ Razzaq, of Mo’s Convenience Store in Coatshill Avenue, Blantyre.

Meanwhile, the prize for Independent Convenience Retailer of the Year went to Sukhvinderjit Sangha of Family Shopper in Lawson Street, in Ayr.

The full winners’ list reads as follows:

Regional Newspaper of the Year

Lancashire Telegraph

National Newspaper of the Year

The Sun

Magazine of the Year

Forever Sports

News Wholesaler of the Year

Smiths News, Newcastle

HND News Delivery Retailer

Victoria Anderson Norfolk News Deliveries

Independent News Retailer of the Year

Carl Pickering

Fellowship of the NFRN

Priti Patel MP

Independent Magazine Retailer of the Year

Gavin Adair

Independent Convenience Retailer

Sukhivinderkit Sangha

Independent Community Retailer of the Year

Shahid ‘Mo’ Razzaq

Wholesaler of the Year


Product of the Year

Panini World Cup Sticker Collection

Innovation of the Year

WH Smith Local

News Deliver Merit Award

Keith Challenger

News Delivery Merit Award

Adam Osbourne

News Deliverer of the Year

Dusty Baker

Special Services to the Industry

Nick Shanaghar

Lifetime Achievement

Jim Walker

Member of the Year

Harry Goraya