Media Awards: RTS Student Television Awards 2016, shortlist

STUDENTS from three Scots education institutions have been nominated in an awards competition celebrating the best of student TV.

Being organised by the Royal Television Society, the competition comprises undergraduate and postgraduate awards across six categories – animation, comedy and entertainment, drama, factual, news and open.

The Scots institutions nominated are Edinburgh College of Art, The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland and the University of Edinburgh.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony on Friday June 3, at the BFI Southbank.

The nominated films will also be available to view on Sky Arts’ on demand service, following the awards.

For more information, visit:

The nominations:

Undergraduate animation 

Bluebarry, Tommy Vad Flaaten and Markus Vad Flaaten, Kingston University
Dresslocked, Domareen Fox, Teesside University
The Armadillo and the Earwig, Ben Cresswell, Edinburgh College of Art

Undergraduate comedy and entertainment 

ICT, James Webb, Reece Ronan, Lauren Briggs and Curtis Mahoney, Sheffield Hallam University
The Switch, Olly Philpott-Smith, Lauren Brown, Sam Okell and Faisal Muhammed, The Manchester Film School at The Manchester College
Valentines Park, Leah Revivo, Joseph Mills, Bradley Kiel and Oliver McMillan, University for the Creative Arts

Undergraduate drama 

Gnomes, Josh Mullins, Mike Priest, Colin Donaldson and Shani Vizma, Liverpool John Moores University
Starfish, Louise Dawson, Dayna Baptie and Fergus Thom, The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland
Tehzeeb, Myriam Raja and Eloise Rudd, Arts University Bournemouth

Undergraduate factual 

Dipper from the Water of Leith, Kris Kubik, University of Edinburgh
Eat, then Wait for the Night, Jing Zhao, Teesside University
La Deriva Dei Continenti, Pietro Novello and Alexander G Simpson, Arts University Bournemouth

Undergraduate news 

Sexabled, Kin Hang Lee, University of Sheffield
Wars on the Moors, Alexander James Nicol, Plymouth University

Undergraduate open 

An Unfortunate End: The Boy & The Fairy, Jordanne Richards, University of South Wales
Fridge Wars, Rebecca Daniel, University of Leeds
Insert FILM TITLE here, I guess, Urmas Salu, University for the Creative Arts

Postgraduate animation

Edmond, Nina Gantz and Emilie Jouffroy, National Film and Television School
Fulfilament, Rhiannon Evans, Joe Murtagh and Alexandra Breede, National Film and Television School
Mr Madila, Rory Waudby-Tolley, Royal College of Art

Postgraduate comedy and entertainment

Monster Hunters, Brigitta Szaszfai and Jonathan Dakin, National Film and Television School
The Life of a Sober Man, The Team, Bournemouth University

Postgraduate drama 

Fractured City, Sean Murray, Queen’s University, Belfast
Group B, Nick Rowland, Alexandra Breede and Joe Murtagh, National Film and Television School
Sick, David Winstone and Josh Lowe, National Film and Television School

Postgraduate factual 

Chasing Dad, Philip Wood, Goldsmiths University of London
Esta Vida (This Life), Lyttanya Shannon, National Film and Television School
The Heart’s Scar, Thuy Le and Tiago Espirito Santo, Bournemouth University

Postgraduate news

Brits in Poland, Anna Senkara, Goldsmiths, University of London
Cloning: Tailored for Success, Anna Lidster, Goldsmiths, University of London

Postgraduate open 

Crunchy, Simon Cartwright and Jacob Thomas, National Film and Television School
Office Romance, Rebecca Gibson and Kat Pearl, National Film and Television School

Craft skills awards

Awards for camerawork, editing and sound will be presented to both undergraduates and postgraduates on the night.

These are selected at the national judges’ discretion.