Moray Firth Radio named best ‘small’ radio station in Scotland

THE Inverness-based radio station, Moray Firth Radio, has been named best ‘small’ radio station in Scotland.

It follows a competition run by the Radio Academy in the run-up to radio’s most prestigious awards ceremony, the Sony Radio Academy Awards 2013.

Moray Firth Radio now goes on to the final of the Sonys, to determine the best ‘small’ station in the UK; technically, the category is known as Station of the Year (under 300,000).

The other contenders are BBC Radio Foyle (Northern Ireland), KL.FM 96.7 (East Anglia), Rutland Radio (East Midlands), National Prison Radio (London), Touch FM (Midlands), Spark FM (North East), KCC Live (North West), Spire FM (South), BBC Radio Jersey (South West) and Stray FM (Yorkshire).

Said the judges of MFR: “MFR continues to provide a great service to the people of the region with a highly-skilled and dedicated team.

“Their passion for the area and knowledge of what interests the listeners is reflected in the output of a radio station with 30 years of delivering a top class local service.

“MFR demonstrated their skills time and time again with engaging content that reflected the diversity of the area to which they broadcast. Whether they celebrate with the Dingwall team making the SPL, the Lossiemouth base being saved, Disney making a movie like Brave, or a local lottery winner, the listener feels MFR is a station for them, delivered by folk like them.

“A true local station providing a brilliant local service and well deserving of their extraordinary reach and market share.”

And in a media release issued by the Radio Academy, Mandy O’Connor, acting general manager, is quoted, as saying: “These awards are all about recognising and celebrating the passion and commitment of UK local radio. This year’s winners reflect the heart and soul of the areas they serve and have demonstrated that they truly understand their listeners and what matters to them. We wish them all the very best for the upcoming 2013 Sony Radio Academy Awards.”