Rockethouse and Comedy Unit shortlisted in UK-wide radio production competition

A RADIO production company in North Berwick, East Lothian, has been nominated twice in UK-wide awards celebrating the best of radio production.

Rockethouse Productions has been shortlisted in the Indie of the Year and Best Sound Designer categories of the Radio Production Awards, run by The Radio Academy.

The latter nomination is for the company’s director, Matt Thompson. Rockethouse specialises in what Thompson describes as “bespoke radio”, the company strapline being ‘beautiful and unexpected radio’.

Productions this year include the 30-part ‘Noise – A human history‘, for BBC Radio 4.

Thompson has just returned from Chicago, in the US, after receiving an honourable mention in the documentary category of the prestigious Third Coast Awards.

Meanwhile, Gus Beattie (pictured) – an exec producer with Glasgow-based the Comedy Unit has been nominated in the Best Entertainment Producer category , for productions such as Fags, Mags and Bags, Mordrin McDonald: 21st Century Wizard and Sketchorama: Absolutely Special (all for BBC Radio 4).

The winners will be announced on the 26th of this month.

The shortlist reads, as follows:

Best Documentary/Feature Maker

Deborah Dudgeon – Whistledown Productions

Simon Jacobs – Unique

Richard Latto – BBC Radio Solent

Ben Taylor – Snappin’ Turtle Productions

Martin Williams – BBC Wales

Best Entertainment Producer

Gus Beattie – The Comedy Unit

Sam Bryant – BBC Radio Comedy

Simon Buschenfeld – Heart Network, Global

David Tyler – Pozzitive

Alison Vernon Smith – BBC Radio Comedy

Best Music Entertainment Producer

Bernard Achampong – BBC Radio 1Xtra

Kate Cocker – Wise Buddah

Rebecca Maxted – Freelance

Phil Noyce – Classic FM

Tom Whalley – Wise Buddah

Best Live Music Producer/Engineer

Joe Adams – Absolute Radio

John Cranmer – Folded Wing

Chris Denman – Global Radio

Chris Elcombe – Somethin’ Else

Best Podcast/Online Producer

Gill Davies – GDP

Christopher Fitch – Freelance

Matt Hill – Freelance

Sue Nelson – Boffin Media

Mark Newman – BBC

Best Multi-Platform Creator

Kate Cocker – Wise Buddah

Will Gilgrass – Somethin’ Else

Owen Hopkin – Classic FM

Jade Hutchinson – Wise Buddah

Nishil Solanki – TBI Media

Best Drama/Readings Producer

John Dryden – Goldhawk Productions

Jonathan Haw – Siren FM

Rhys Phillips – Radio Cardiff

Boz Temple-Morris – Holy Mountain

Joby Waldman – Somethin’ Else

Best Newcomer

Laurence Bowen – Feelgood Fiction Ltd

Alistair Cockburn – Classic FM

Tom Parry – TBI Media

Jade Scott – Sue Clark Productions

Isabel Sutton – Just Radio Ltd

Best Creative

Fari Bradley – Resonance FM

Alistair Cockburn – Classic FM

Phil Critchlow – TBI Media

Nathan Freeman – BBC Radio 6 Music

Dan Riedo – Xfm

Best Sound Designer

Steve Bond – Goldhawk Productions

Matt Katz – Top Dog Productions Ltd

Mark Pittam – TBI Media

Matt Thompson – Rockethouse Productions Ltd

Eloise Whitmore – Somethin’ Else

Indie of the Year

Loftus Media

PRA Productions

Rockethouse Productions Ltd

USP Content

Whistledown Productions

Production Hero Award

Kate Cooper-Owen – Somethin’ Else

James Curran – Absolute Radio

Darby Dorras – Somethin’ Else

Gaynor Marshall – Metro Radio/TFM

Chad McKenzie – TBI Media