Media Awards: Arqiva Commercial Radio Awards

THE reporting by Radio Clyde of the Clutha tragedy – when a helicopter crashed into the Clutha bar in Glasgow, in November, killing ten people – has earned the station a prize at awards celebrating the best of UK commercial radio.

Now in their 19th year, the Arqiva Commercial Radio Awards are, say the organisers, “the biggest celebration of commercial radio, marking achievement from presenters and programming to advertising and marketing”.

And Radio Clyde took the main prize in the News Coverage of the Year category.

The winners’ list reads, as follows:

Presenter of the Year (under 2 Million TSA)

Steve & Karen – Metro Radio

Presenter of the Year (over 2 Million TSA)

Christian O’Connell – Absolute Radio

Programmer of the Year

Chris Pegg – Metro Radio

Unsung Hero of the Year

Emma Oxborrow

Journalist of the Year (Ali Booker Memorial Award)

Michelle Livesey – Key 103

Station of the Year (<500,000 TSA)

Free Radio (Herefordshire & Worcestershire)

Station of the Year (500,000 to 2M TSA)

Hallam FM

Station of the Year (2 Million + TSA)


Breakfast Show of the Year (under 2 Million TSA)

Capital Breakfast with Matt, Polly & Geraint – Capital South Wales

Breakfast Show of the Year (over 2 Million TSA)

The Christian O’Connell Breakfast Show – Absolute Radio

Feature(s) of the Year

Christian O’Connell’s 40 List – Absolute Radio

Single Programme or Broadcast of the Year

The Funeral of Margaret Thatcher – LBC

Specialist Programme of the Year

The Sunday Roast with Caroline – 106JACKfm (Oxfordshire)

Social Action Initiative

Slavery on our Streets – LBC

Station Imaging Award

Captial Xtra Launch

News Coverage of the Year

The Clutha Tragedy – Radio Clyde News

Marketing Award

The Kiss at the Kiss with Cheltenham Art Gallery – Heart Gloucestershire

Local Sales Team of the Year

Global Radio Manchester

National Sales Award

Begin with a Bulmers – XFM

Radio Station Event of the Year

The Absolute Radio Sessions – Absolute Radio

Advertiser of the Year


Media Agency of the Year


PPL Breakthrough UK Artist of the Year

Naughty Boy

PPL Most Played UK Artist on Commercial Radio

Olly Murs

Chairman’s Award

Dianne Thompson

Special Award

Phil Riley

Lifetime Achievement Award

Grae Allan

NB The Ali Booker Award remembers former winner, journalist Ali Booker, who died of breast cancer four years ago.