Media release: Edinburgh TV Awards – shortlist announced


THE Edinburgh International Television Festival brought to you by YouTube and BT, has revealed the shortlist of nominations for the Edinburgh TV Awards.

The highly-coveted awards form one of the highlights of the TV Festival calendar, celebrating the best of British content, as well as international co-productions.

The shortlist was voted for by over 50 industry professionals.

The shortlist features nominations in categories including: Channel of the Year, Production Company of the Year, New Programme of the Year, which will be open to international productions airing on British television or available to download or stream, Best Factual Programme, and returning for a second year, Best International Co-Production, which will recognise a co-production project which has had a creative and cultural impact in its respective territories.

Edinburgh TV Awards Shortlist 2017

 Channel of the Year Award:


Sky Atlantic


Channel 5

BBC Three

Channel 4

Production Company of the Year:


Left Bank Pictures


World Productions

Fulwell 73

ITN Productions

New Programme of the Year:

The Crown, Netflix, Left Bank Pictures

National Treasure, Channel 4, The Forge

Interview with a Murderer, Channel 4, ITN Productions

Flowers, Channel 4, Kudos

Apple Tree Yard, BBC One, Kudos

Slum Britain: 50 Years on, Channel 5, ITN Productions

Best International Co-Production:

The Young Pope, An Original Production Sky, HBO, Canal+, produced by Wildside in association with Haut et Court TV and Mediapro

Humans, Channel 4 and AMC produced by Kudos

The Tunnel: Sabotage, Sky Atlantic and CANAL+ co-production from Kudos and Shine France Films.

Medici: Masters of Florence, Big Light Productions Ltd, Lux Vide, Wild Bunch TV, RAI Fiction, and Netflix

Best Factual Programme:

Grayson Perry: All Man, Channel 4, Swan Films

The Real Marigold Hotel, BBC One, Twofour

Portrait Artist of the Year, Sky Arts, Storyvault Films

Gangland, Channel 5, Maroon Productions

SAS: Who Dares Wins, Channel 4, Minnow Films

Employable Me, BBC Two, Optomen Television Ltd

Festival director, Lisa Campbell, said: “Our panel of industry experts had to make some tough choices to pick the shortlist from hundreds of entries, so congratulations to all those nominated. It’s been another incredible year of creative excellence so I’d like to wish everyone the best of luck for the final round of judging.”

The TV Moment of the Year category, voted for exclusively via the Festival app saw Adele rapping on Carpool Karaoke claim victory in last year’s awards. This year’s TV Moment of the Year category will open from Wednesday 2nd August and remain open until Thursday, 24th August, the day of the Edinburgh TV Awards ceremony.

Last year, Channel 4 picked up the prestigious prize for Channel of the Year, while the Production Company of the Year went to Kudos. Both return this year with hopes of retaining their titles.

As a festival and a charity, the Edinburgh International Television Festival is committed to helping young people from all backgrounds gain access to the TV industry. It runs two young talent schemes: Ones to Watch and The Network.

Both schemes aim to ensure that the people working in television are as diverse as the audience watching it.

For more information log on to

Follow us on Twitter on @thetvfestival or on Instagram EdinburghTVFest

For more press information please contact Plank PR on 020 8995 3936 or 07801 321965

MEDIA RELEASE issued by Plank PR. You too can share your stories (aka press or media releases), on this site. Email here for more information.

Check out for your very own media releases feed…

Check out too,, and

Stay connected with our various twitter feeds: CharitiesDrinkEducationEnergyFashionFilmFoodGardensLegalMotorsMusicOutdoorsPropertyScience and Sports. And not forgetting FinanceTheatreTravelFestivalsVisual ArtsAberdeenDundeeEdinburghGlasgowInvernessPerth and Stirling.

Plank PR contact details…

Contact: Victoria Hartley-Wilson