Media release: Edinburgh TV Festival Awards – shortlist announced


THE Edinburgh Television Festival brought to you by YouTube and BT, has revealed the shortlist of nominations for the Edinburgh TV Awards, it was announced today (WED).

Presented by writer, comedian, TV and radio presenter, Frank Skinner, the TV Awards, now in their 17th year, form one of the highlights of the TV Festival calendar, bringing out the TV industry’s glitterati, as well as showcasing the outstanding talent, and incredible breadth of genres and creativity that broadcasters and production companies produce year after year. The shortlist was voted for by over 90 industry professionals.

Frank Skinner, said: “Having finally reached that plane of consciousness from which I can watch others winning things and feel no pain, I am, at last, ready to host the Edinburgh TV Awards. And what host could ask for a better wind beneath his wings than an audience of TV executives? I cannot wait.”

The shortlist features nominations in categories including: Channel of the Year and Production Company of the Year, as well as a number of new categories including: Best Specialist Channel, Best UK Drama, Best International Drama, Best Documentary Programme, Best Popular Factual Series, Best Entertainment Series, Best Comedy Series, and Best On-Screen Breakthrough Talent.

Edinburgh TV Awards shortlist 2018

Channel of the year award:



BBC Three


Channel 5


Specialist channel of the year

BBC Four

Sky Arts


CNN International

Production company of the year

CPL Productions

Studio Lambert

Big Talk Productions


World Productions

ITN Productions

Best breakthrough talent

Daisy and Charlie Cooper, BBC Three

Jack Rowan, Channel 4

Rodney P, BBC

Daniel Lawrence Taylor, ITV2

Rachel Parris, Channel 4

Letitia Wright, Netflix/Channel 4

Best comedy series

This Country, BBC Studios

Derry Girls, Hat Trick

Peter Kay’s Car Share, Goodnight Vienna

Inside No.9, BBC Studios

People Just Do Nothing, Roughcut TV

GameFace, Objective Media Group

Best entertainment series

Celebs Go Dating, Lime Pictures

Love Island, ITV Studios Ltd, Motion Content Group

The Graham Norton Show, So Television

Taskmaster Series 5, Avalon Productions

Gogglebox, Studio Lambert

Harry Hill’s Alien Fun Capsule, CPL Productions

Best popular factual series

Coastal Railway Journey’s with Julie Walters, Alaska TV

No More Boys and Girls, Outline Productions

Old People’s Home for 4 Year Olds, CPL Productions

The Real Full Monty: Ladies Night, Spun Gold

Cruising with Jane McDonald, Elephant House Productions

Portrait Artist of the Year, Storyvault Films

Best documentary programme

Blue Planet II, BBC Studios NHU, BBC Worldwide

Louis Theroux: Dark states, Heroin Town, BBC Studios: The Documentary Unit

Raped: My Story, Lambent Productions

Grenfell Tower: Minute by Minute, ITN Productions

Forbidden Games: The Justin Fashanu Story, Fulwell 73, Darke Films, Black Sun Media

James Bulger: A Mother’s Story, Optomen

Best UK drama

Peaky Blinders, Caryn Mandabach Productions and Tiger Aspect Productions

Murdered for Being Different, BBC Studios: The Documentary Unit

Three Girls, BBC Studios, Studio Lambert

Save Me, World Productions

The End of the F***** World, Clerkenwell Films

Line of Duty, World Productions

Best international drama

The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story, Fox 21 Television Studios, Plan B Entertainment, Ryan Murphy Productions

The Handmaid’s Tale, An MGM and HULU production

The Crown, Left Bank Pictures

Game of Thrones, HBO in association with Bighead, Littlehead, 360 Television, Startling Television

Big Little Lies, HBO, David E.Kelly Productions, Pacific Standard and Blossom Films

Tin Star, Kudos

Festival director, Lisa Campbell, said: “Judging has been especially tough this year with the introduction of our new categories and the breadth of talent, creativity and downright compelling viewing that has graced our screens. Good luck to all of our nominees!”

The TV Moment of the Year category, voted for exclusively via the festival app saw AJ’s priceless reaction to new football boots in Rich House, Poor House claim victory in last year’s awards.

This year’s TV Moment of the Year category will open in July and remain open until Thursday, 23rd August, the day of the Edinburgh TV Awards ceremony.

Last year, BBC One picked up the coveted Channel of the Year gong, while the production company of the year went to Left Bank Pictures.

As a festival and a charity, the Edinburgh International Television Festival is committed to helping young people from all backgrounds gain access to the TV industry. It runs two young talent schemes, Ones to Watch and The Network.

Both schemes aim to ensure that the people working in television are as diverse as the audience watching it.

For more information log on to

Follow us on Twitter on @EdinburghTVFest or on Instagram EdinburghTVFest

For more press information please contact Plank PR on 020 8995 3936 or /

MEDIA RELEASE issued by Plank PR. You too can share your stories (aka press or media releases), on this site. Email here for more information.

Check out for your very own media releases feed…

Check out too, and

Stay connected with our various twitter feeds: CharitiesDrinkEducationEnergyFashionFilmFoodGardensLegalMotorsMusicOutdoorsPropertyScience and Sports. And not forgetting FinanceTheatreTravelFestivalsVisual ArtsAberdeenDundeeEdinburghGlasgowInvernessPerth and Stirling.

Plank PR contact details…

Contact: victoria Hartley-Wilson