Media release: RTS Scotland unveils winners of its 2022 Student Television Awards

RTS Logo Horizontal 1500px

THE Royal Television Society’s (RTS) Scotland Centre last night crowned the winners of its Student Television Awards for 2022.

The winners were unveiled at a glittering ceremony at St Luke’s, Glasgow, sponsored by STV and The Nerve. The event was hosted by STV News entertainment reporter, Laura Boyd.

The RTS Scotland Student Awards celebrate the best audiovisual work created by students at undergraduate and postgraduate level in nine categories across Animation, Comedy and Entertainment, Drama, Factual, Production design, Editing, Sound, Camerawork, and Writing.

Royal Conservatoire of Scotland led the way with a total of four wins for its students, including two awards for documentary, ‘The Space I Occupy’.

Both the University of the West of Scotland and City of Glasgow College took home two wins each.

Stephen O’Donnell, chair of RTS Scotland, said: “This year’s RTS Scotland Student Awards highlighted the incredible filmmaking talent that continues to flow through Scotland’s universities and colleges.

“All the winners and nominees brought something unique to the table, and it’s safe to say each category was hotly-contested.

“RTS Scotland is delighted to be giving a platform to these exceptional pieces of work and supporting Scotland’s young creatives into the TV industry. A huge congratulations once again to all of this year’s winners, and I look forward to seeing them picking up more RTS awards in the years to come.”

Laura Boyd, STV News entertainment reporter, added: “This ceremony has always been one of my favourites to host and it was particularly special this year as we were able to do it in person again.

“I was blown away by the talent in the room, and after seeing some intriguing taster clips from each of the films, I can’t wait to watch them all in full on STV Player. Bravo to the Class of 2022!”

All of the nominated and winning films, as well as highlights of the ceremony, will be available to stream soon on STV Player.

Please see below the full list of nominations and winners:


WINNER – ‘Silvering’ – Eilidh Nicoll, Carla Sayer, Hervé Girardin (The University of Edinburgh)


‘Phosphene’ – Rowan Macdonald, Alice Monson, David Ross Lawn (The University of Glasgow)

‘Take Off’ – Gillian Love (University of Stirling)

Comedy and Entertainment

WINNER – ‘YouTube Editing is Like 80’s MTV’ – Nathan Clark (University of the West of Scotland)


‘Personal’ – Paul Chalmers, James Reid (University of the West of Scotland)

‘T.J and Lou’s Spirit Quest’ – Ross Harkins, Neil Dudman-Robb, Iona Shanks, Kerr Spanswick, Scott Fryatt (Edinburgh Napier University)


WINNER – ‘Sizzle’ – May-Ann Blanch, Luke Keogh, Anna Burns, Rachael Light (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)


‘Norland Winds’ – Gavin Hunter, Michael Devlin, Niall MacRae, Ross Hunter (City of Glasgow College)

‘Alma’ – Ciara Crolly, Louis Krommenhoek, Callum Jarvie, Morven McLeod (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)


WINNER – ‘The Space I Occupy’ – Colleen Bell (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)


‘The Middle Man with a Herd’ – Iain Mackenzie, Neale Mcintosh, Hannah McLintock, William Gordon (City of Glasgow College)

‘Beneath the Ivy’ – Samuel Ruddy (University of the West of Scotland)


WINNER – ‘Norland Winds’ – Niall MacRae (City of Glasgow College)


WINNER – ‘Beneath the Ivy’ – Samuel Ruddy (University of the West of Scotland)

Production design

WINNER – ‘Sizzle’ – Rachael Light (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)


WINNER – ‘Refuweegee’ – Rocco Rossetti (City of Glasgow College)


WINNER – ‘The Space I Occupy’ – Colleen Bell (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)

For more information, please visit:

MEDIA RELEASE issued by DDA. You too can share your stories (aka press or media releases), on this site. Email here for more information.

Check out for your very own media releases feed…

Check out too


Contact: DDA PR