Media Release: South Ayrshire Council hosts COSLA Convention in Ayr Town Hall


SOUTH Ayrshire Council played host to senior local government politicians and officers from across Scotland last week when the COSLA Convention met in Ayr Town Hall for the first time.

Says a spokesperson: “Held just four times a year in venues across Scotland, the Convention is COSLA’s ruling body with overall control of COSLA’s policy and direction. It consists of representatives from all member councils and political groups represented within Scottish local government.

“South Ayrshire Provost, Winifred Sloan, delivered the official welcome to those attending, which included representation from almost every council in Scotland.

“The meeting included lively debates and discussion on issues including the Spending Review, NHS resource transfer and public sector reform as well as a presentation from the Equalities and Human Rights Commission.

“Provost Sloan also hosted a pre-event dinner – sponsored by Northgate Public Services – at County Hall the evening before the Convention.”

Provost Sloan said: “I was delighted to welcome friends and colleagues from Scottish local government to South Ayrshire for the COSLA Convention.

“This is a key event on the local government calendar and gave us a terrific opportunity to showcase the South Ayrshire area, our facilities and services.

“Our guests were very impressed with both County Buildings and the Town Hall and I hope this will encourage them to return to South Ayrshire to see what else we have to offer.”

Councillor Bill McIntosh, leader of South Ayrshire Council, added: “It was a privilege to welcome fellow Council Leaders, officers and politicians to Ayr for such an important meeting, coming just days after the details of the comprehensive spending review were revealed.

“Ayr Town Hall saw a lot of discussion on the challenges we face at this crucial time for Scottish local government and this is a debate that will continue in town halls and Council chambers across the country.”

COSLA president, Pat Watters, said: “We try and take one Convention a year out on the road, and it was a pleasure visiting Ayr for the October Convention. Discussions were lively as you would expect with the serious financial challenges we are all facing.

“The motto of Ayr is ‘ne’er forget the people’, and this will be both appropriate and vital for us all in the delivery of public services in the weeks and months ahead.”

South Ayrshire Council is a founder member of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle.


The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle is an association founded in 2007 by some of the top companies in Ayrshire.

Its purpose is to publicise its members, and to celebrate and promote the wealth and rich diversity of entrepreneurial talent and business excellence that abounds here within the county boundaries of Ayrshire.

Members include the Clydesdale Bank, Ayr Racecourse, Western House Hotel and South Ayrshire Council, and member company activities include broadcasting, building and construction, architectural practice, estate agency and land management, chartered accountancy, insurance broking, legal services, golf club management, marketing services and brand creation, web design and public relations consultancy.

Frazer Coogans Commercial Solicitors senior partner Norman Geddes is executive chair of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle, and managing director is public relations consultancy Fame Publicity Services proprietor Murdoch MacDonald.

Founder members of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle:

South Ayrshire Council http://www.south-ayrshire.gov.uk
Clydesdale Bank http://www.cbonline.co.uk
Turnberry Hotel and Golf Resort http://www.turnberry.co.uk
Ayr Racecourse http://www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk
Western House Hotel http://www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk/hotel.html
CKD Galbraith Property Consultants http://www.ckdgalbraith.co.uk
Frazer Coogans Solicitors http://www.frazercoogans.co.uk
Accident & Injury Claims Centre http://www.accidentclaims.com
MacKay Corporate Insurance Brokers http://www.mackaycorporate-brokers.com
Donald Ross Estate Agents: http://www.donaldross.co.uk
Westgale Ltd Building Contractors http://www.westgale.co.uk
Sinclair Scott Chartered Accountants http://www.sinclairscott.com
Paligap Creative Agency http://www.paligap.com
ARP Lorimer & Associates Architects http://www.arpl.co.uk
JB Management – Training Providers http://www.jb-management.com
Brunston Castle Golf Club http://www.brunstoncastle.co.uk
Visimetrics http://www.visimetrics.com
Fouters Restaurant http://www.fouters.co.uk
Christie Financial Planning Ltd http://www.christiefp.com
Allison Lightbody Waddell Chartered Surveyors http://www.alwsurveyors.com
Kestrel Press http://www.kestrelpress.com
Fame Publicity Services Public Relations Consultancy http://www.famepublicity.co.uk
West Sound Radio http://www.westsound.co.uk
Easton Property
Easton Kitchens & Bathrooms

For further information about The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle and to apply for membership, e-mail eliteayrshire@gmail.com

Website: http://www.eliteayrshire.com

MEDIA RELEASE posted by Fame Publicity Services. You too can post media releases (aka press releases) on allmediascotland.com. For more information, email here.

Contact: Murdoch MacDonald
Phone: 01292 281498
Email: famepublicity@aol.com
Website: http://www.AyrshireScotlandBusinessNews.com